A.S. Byatt’s ‘The Djinn in the Nightingale’s Eye’

January 11, 2012 at 2:38 pm 4 comments

ImageAs many of you know (and I feel like I say this more than is probably warranted), I have something of an apathetic relationship with A.S. Byatt. This apathy is despite my very best, very genuine efforts to like her. I struggled through Possession; I ultimately loved it, but still feelt grumpy about how I had to force myself through the first half to get to the luminous second half. And I plodded through The Biographer’s Tale, mentally willing it to be something better and different from what it was. Again, I ultimately appreciated the book, this time mostly for her commentary on academia, but I remained A.S. Byatt’s sulky acolyte.

Enter The Djinn in the Nightingale’s Eye. Recommended to me as the ideal Byatt for a grudging Byatt reader (me on my best days), The Djinn was nothing short of delightful. Finally I was able to see for myself that which I had formerly taken on faith from true Byatt fans: Byatt’s remarkable imagination, her ability to masterfully weave a tale, and her engagement with the very tradition of story-telling.

The Djinn is, perhaps to its benefit, short, although I definitely could have pictured myself skipping through more stories of the kind contained in its pages. It is a collection of fairy tales, but not the ones we all know retold—this is no Ella Enchanted for adults. Instead, Byatt creates her own fairy tales. They are full of vim and whimsy and fit perfectly into the established fairy tale canon familiar to readers of Grimm and their ilk. At the same time, Byatt’s stories maintain their own originality and evident intelligent outsider’s perspective on that very canon, creating something of a unique fairy tale experience that looks both inward and outward on itself.

Reading The Djinn was akin to a religious conversion for me as I at long last found myself smiling over an A.S. Byatt’s book and even enjoying it. I highly recommend this short, pleasant read for anyone else desperately wishing they could only “get” Byatt and also for those with no Byatt preferences at all, but a love of expert tale-weaving.

Entry filed under: Contemporary Fiction, Fantasy. Tags: , .

Getting a Kindle; or, surviving the bookocalypse ‘Commencement’ by J. Courtney Sullivan

4 Comments Add your own

  • […] through was J. Courtney Sullivan’s Commencement. (The second was A.S. Byatt’s enjoyable The Djinn in the Nightingale’s Eye.) I’d been wanting to read this book practically from the moment it first came on the scene […]

    Reply
  • 2. Eva  |  February 7, 2012 at 9:55 am

    Yaaaaaaay! I feel ridiculously justified for recommending this one as a great place for Byatt newbies/skeptics to start. ;)

    Reply
    • 3. Corey  |  February 7, 2012 at 10:53 am

      Yes, super-kudos to you for the recommendation! Everyone should read these. (Well, anyone with a keen appreciation for magic and tale-telling.)

      Reply
  • […] as it did amidst my A.S. Byatt/Victorian fairy tale Renaissance, this re-reading benefited greatly from its context. Gaiman’s ability to flawlessly mimic the […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 135 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


