Reading, and more often not reading, in late 2016

December 22, 2016 at 12:16 pm 5 comments

Temporary book storage c. 2010
At the risk of stating the obvious, we here at Literary Transgressions haven’t been posting lately. Our apologies, dear readers. This lapse is for a variety of personal reasons — as well as the utterly miserable current political climate in the states — but it’s also for the simple reason that I just have not been reading.

This is a truly unusual situation for me; I always read. I read before work. I read after work. I’ve read through subway commutes standing up with no pole in sight. I read walking home. I’ve read on bumpy ferry rides and turbulence-filled Cessna journeys. I read in 100+-degree weather, stopping briefly to take cold showers. I’ve read through depression, I’ve read through joy, and I’ve read even when I didn’t really feel like it, but did so anyway.

But now, suddenly, I’m not reading. I haven’t finished a book in months. I’ve barely even started a book in weeks. There’s something in the air, a feeling of just too much, that means I haven’t been able to pick up a book.

Normally, books are a refuge and an inspiration for me. But, as 2016 draws to a close, I just can’t. I can’t muster the energy or the hope to crack open a book.

I have high hopes that I will return to my readerly ways in 2017. I love reading (again, the obvious!) and, with a snowy winter forecast by the Farmer’s Almanac, I anticipate lots of snowed-in, cozy afternoons with hot chocolate, buttered graham crackers, my warm little dog, and a good book.

But until I muster up the ability to put one foot in front of the bookish other, I just wanted to check in with all of you. How are you holding up, dear readers? Have you been avoiding literary escape? Or have you dived in more passionately?

Here’s to a brighter 2017 — and stay tuned for our annual “Year in Reading” post next week! Despite this time of non-reading, Kate and I did read some great stuff earlier in the year.

Entry filed under: Musings and Essays. Tags: , , , .

Recent Reads: Autumn 2016 Edition The LT Year in Reading: 2016 Edition

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. neuroticmom  |  December 22, 2016 at 4:15 pm

    Here I thought it was me. Kate gave me 3 books for my birthday in early Oct and the first two I read rather quickly(for me) but this third one although I am enjoying it, it is taking me forever to read! No snowy days here but maybe a nice rainy day with nothing else to do will cure it all. :)

    Reply
    • 2. Corey  |  December 23, 2016 at 10:29 am

      Sooo glad it isn’t just me either! :) And a nice rainy day is as good an excuse to curl up and ignore the outside world as a snowy one, I think!

      Reply
  • 3. Sheryl  |  December 29, 2016 at 5:40 pm

    Think the horribleness of 2016 has me diving into books more than not. However, there are currently three books on my nightstand (and one on my end table) that I started and still haven’t finished. Perhaps a New Year’s resolution to finish those four particular books is in order!!

    Reply
    • 4. Corey  |  January 2, 2017 at 1:28 pm

      Yes, I think it’s total abstention or total escape!

      And what are the four books?

      Reply
  • […] readers of this blog will know, I’ve been struggling to read since the US election last fall and Jessie Burton’s The Muse is one of the first books I’ve raced through and stayed up […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 135 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


