Library Loot: Week of February 22

February 25, 2016 at 6:12 am 2 comments

IMG_20160221_170030571
I haven’t been feeling super-motivated to read lately, which usually means it’s time to hit the stacks and see what inspiration my local library has to offer. Luck was with me this week and I picked up a trio of great-sounding reads. Indeed, I had to stop myself at three; so many looked good!

life-after-lifeLife After Life by Kate Atkinson
This book has been on my radar since it came out (which, I should note, felt like a very short time ago, but was actually in 2013) and I was quite excited to see it on the shelf at the library — two copies, no less! (Having now discovered that it is three years old, I’m somewhat less astounded at this bounty.) I’m looking forward to digging into the lives of protagonist Ursula Todd, a young woman who, every time she dies, is immediately born again. What will she change in her life and in history?

novel-bookstoreThe Novel Bookstore by Laurence Cossé
A serendipitous library find if ever there was one! I have never heard of it or Cossé, but the jacket flap has me hoping for something along the lines of Arturo Perez-Reverte’s The Club Dumas, but with France instead of Spain and without the supernatural mumbo-jumbo. File this under my continued quest to find a good bookish mystery novel. (And, also: that cover! So cute!)

trollopeThe Warden by Anthony Trollope
Would you believe this was the sole Trollope my library had? A scandal! That literary injustice aside, I was happy to see The Warden there on the shelf since it is the first of Trollope’s Barchester Novels, none of which I’ve yet had the pleasure of reading. I enjoyed The Eustace Diamonds tremendously when I was last in graduate school, so I’m hoping The Warden will be equally diverting.

I’m clearly in one of those moods where I’m not quite sure what I want to read, but by George do I want to read something. Here’s hoping one of the above strikes my fancy!

Entry filed under: Collections and Lists. Tags: , , .

‘The Marvels’ by Brian Selznick ‘A Novel Bookstore’ by Laurence Cossé

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kate  |  March 6, 2016 at 5:55 pm

    I LOVED Life After Life! I hope you (and Millie) do, too.

    Reply
    • 2. Corey  |  March 7, 2016 at 12:04 pm

      So far so good! I got distracted by Middlemarchery, but am now back at it. :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 133 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


