A Purposeful Year: Corey’s 2015 Reading Plan Wrap-Up Post

December 28, 2015 at 6:44 am 2 comments

popsugar-challengeAt the start of 2015, I set out to have the most intentional and thoughtful year of reading ever. I wanted to read with purpose, focusing on books both inside and outside my comfort zone that were engaging and mentally challenging as well as entertaining. I had goals and deadlines and aspirations — I even signed up for two different reading challenges to keep me honest.

And, for most of 2015, I read ferociously. I checked categories and authors off my list, I chose what I was reading with the challenges in mind, and I just basically read a ton. Travel helped — there were a lot of layovers and long train rides in 2015 — as did the fantastic local library I had access to for the first half of the year.

Then, in the autumn of 2015, I went back to graduate school and had a reading epiphany: reading isn’t a contact sport. It isn’t something to train for, it isn’t some kind of competition, and it isn’t something to kill yourself trying to do “best.” Since reading is something I love so much, I realized that it should be a treat, a pleasure, even a leisurely pursuit, not something you pull a muscle doing.

In consequence, my reading slowed down considerably after September, although what I have read since then, I’ve enjoyed a lot. I allowed myself time to enjoy each book and, if something wasn’t clicking, I didn’t force myself to finish it. Life’s too short!

And so I come to the end of 2015 with another year of reading under my belt, although not the one I originally pictured! For my first-ever reading challenges, out of the combined 75 categories in the Book Riot Read Harder Challenge and the Popsugar 2015 Reading Challenge, I checked off 55, which feels like a pretty good chunk. As I had hoped, the challenges did force me to read some books that I wouldn’t have picked up otherwise and to check some titles of my ever-growing TBR list. On the whole, life held a lot of changes for me this past year and I think it makes sense that my reading habits match.

Entry filed under: Collections and Lists. Tags: , , .

Reading Out Loud The LT Year in Reading: 2015 Edition

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kate  |  December 28, 2015 at 10:58 am

    “…reading isn’t a contact sport. It isn’t something to train for, it isn’t some kind of competition, and it isn’t something to kill yourself trying to do ‘best.'”

    THIS. I am officially over trying to read the “most” or the “best”!

    Reply
    • 2. Corey  |  December 28, 2015 at 11:23 pm

      Here, here! There is something to be said for goals, of course, but also something in favor of reading as recreation. :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 133 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


