Library Loot: Week of August 17

August 20, 2015 at 3:25 am 5 comments

Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Linda from Silly Little Mischief that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library.

Welcome to my first Library Loot in Western New York! I’m finally settling in and getting (re-)acclimated to the latest version of my childhood library system. In the eleven years since I’ve been gone, I’m sorry to say the library is rather less welcoming than it used to be — for some reason, all branches now seem to feature a glowering librarian at the entrance who looks at you like you’re going to hold up the library and steal their large electronics.

To my chagrin, the library has also instituted a series of miserly fees for various services. Most infuriatingly for me, they now charge you to request a book, a service which, in addition to suddenly costing me money, now takes more than twice as long as it did when I lived on an island 30 miles out to sea. A both improbable and unwelcome development.

So, not a very satisfying library experience for me this week. On the bright side, I got a pretty good haul through a combination of requests I made before I was informed of their new fee policy and good old fashioned browsing:

sweetness-pie
The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie
by Alan Bradley
Recommended by Book Clubber Sheryl to me innumerable times, I finally succumbed and am greatly looking forward to the escapades of Flavia de Luce, aspiring young lady-chemist. Also, one of the later books involves mummies somehow, so I’m so in!

uprooted
Uprooted
by Naomi Novik
For some reason, I thought this was a graphic novel. Even though it turned out to be a novel-novel, I’m still looking forward to it immensely. It was featured in Book Riot ages ago (they get advance copies, darn them!) and I’ve been eagerly awaiting its release ever since. Lev Grossman called it “wild, thrilling…an instant classic,” so let’s do this, Naomi Novik!

year-of-wonders
Year of Wonders: A Novel of the Plague
by Geraldine Brooks
I’ve enjoyed pretty much every Geraldine Brooks novel I’ve encountered (even the bleak, but still incredible, March). I’m not sure why Year of Wonders has languished so long on my TBR list, but I’m looking forward to finally checking it off.

east-of-eden
East of Eden
by John Steinbeck
I rediscovered Steinbeck earlier this year and East of Eden has been on my list ever since. It’s supposed to be his masterpiece and who could say no to this beautiful Penguin Steinbeck Centennial edition?

What did you get this week? Any good reads?

Entry filed under: Collections and Lists, Musings and Essays. Tags: , , , .

‘Tea with Mr Rochester’ by Frances Towers On ‘Middlemarch’ and grown-ups

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sheryl  |  August 20, 2015 at 9:17 am

    Crossing my fingers that you like Flavia! I am always slightly nervous that people will like my recommendations.

    I am currently reading a library find, The Last Kings of Sark, which fell in my way during a library e-book search and is quite a nice surprise.

    Reply
    • 2. Corey  |  August 20, 2015 at 12:37 pm

      It looks so good! I spotted the latest in the series in the New Releases shelves and got completely sucked in. So I stopped myself and sternly forced myself to put it down and go about things in the proper order: first book in a series first. :)

      And what is Sark about? I like the title!

      Reply
  • 3. Linda @ Silly Little Mischief  |  August 21, 2015 at 3:28 pm

    Charging for placing a hold? I would be very poor very quickly. East of Eden is one of my favorites. Enjoy!

    Reply
    • 4. Corey  |  August 24, 2015 at 12:18 pm

      Haha, same! I used to request books all the time, so now I’ll have to change my habits considerably!

      Reply
  • 5. On balance and reading | Literary Transgressions  |  September 3, 2015 at 2:04 am

    […] a place with an amazing library and read a ton as a result. And I’ll move again to somewhere without an amazing library and read […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 135 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


