‘Travels in Siberia’ by Ian Frazier

June 18, 2015 at 7:44 am 5 comments

When I moved from Nantucket back to upstate New York, I found myself with a long drive featuring an endless parade of fading in-and-out radio stations before me. All NPR wanted to talk about was Palmyra (a worthy topic, surely, but not one I needed to hear about for 8 straight hours) and all the other stations seemed to insist upon the same three Taylor Swift songs interspersed with Coldplay and Walk the Moon’s ubiquitous “Shut Up and Dance.”

My roadtrip companion.

My roadtrip companion.

We stopped overnight in my college town and I knew therein lied my salvation. A quick trip to Turn It Up!, the local used record store, produced a $3 copy the audiobook version of Ian Frazier’s Travels in Sibera. This opus was available on 16 audiodiscs read for your pleasure by the author. In a small audiobook section crammed with thrillers and romance novels, picking up Frazier’s book wasn’t a difficult decision. I love travel narratives, I knew nothing about Siberia, and had just enough interest in general Russian history that it seemed like a safe bet.

And so it was! Not only did discs 1-4 keep me awake and fascinated for the entirety of my trip across New York State, the rest of the book (procured from the library in physical book form the day after I arrived) proved equally gripping.

siberiaTravels in Siberia is the work of decades — Frazier started working on it in 1993 and it was published in 2010 — and the author’s unrelenting enthusiasm for Russia and determination to understand its culture and history comes through in every word. He calls it “unfortunate Russia-love,” but I wouldn’t want to read a book about the area from any other perspective. His unfortunate Russia-love is intoxicating and makes you appreciate Siberia, a distinctly unwelcoming place, in a way not possible otherwise.

Stylistically a mash of travel narrative and popular history book, Travels manages to weave Frazier’s personal travels, spotlights on various moments in Siberian (and Russian) history, and summaries of previous Siberian travel narratives together in an expert mix. Many travelogues focus on a the personal journey with only snippets of context, but Frazier masters both sides of the coin and provides an ideal entry point into Siberia for anyone willing to dive in.

Honestly, this isn’t a book I would likely have ever discovered if not for the slim pickings at Turn It Up!, but I am indebted to the serendipity of used book and record stores for this one. It was educational, fascinating, and a journey unto itself. Highly recommended!

Entry filed under: Non-fiction. Tags: , , , , .

Dark Places by Gillian Flynn Light in August by William Faulkner

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kate  |  June 21, 2015 at 11:18 am

    Okay, I really love “Shut Up and Dance,” but I completely agree that audiobooks are the way to go on long road trips! This one sounds fantastic.

    Reply
    • 2. Corey  |  June 22, 2015 at 10:33 am

      Haha, I love “Shut Up and Dance,” too! But there are only so many scorned attempted dog/person dance parties one can take before one turns to other forms of entertainment. Millie can be very scholarly.

      And, happily, despite the slim pickings, this did turn out to be a great read! And I got to use my oft-neglected car CD player, so it was all to the good. :)

      Reply
      • 3. Kate  |  June 22, 2015 at 1:05 pm

        Stella feels much the same way about Walk the Moon, much preferring John Denver and Ray LaMontagne. She actually huffs when Taylor Swift comes on.

        Millie looks very scholarly in this picture! :)

        Reply
        • 4. Corey  |  June 23, 2015 at 10:33 am

          Millie does. Not. Like. Music. Period. And, yes, you can just see her judginess about the musical decisions I have brought down upon us in that photo, can’t you?

  • […] of a reading lull for much of June after I read The Magicians Trilogy and then Ian Frazier’s excellent Travels in Siberia. I’ve never been struck by Post-Amazing Book Disorder so strongly, so I suspect dashing about […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 135 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


