Things I didn’t read this spring

May 28, 2015 at 6:45 am 1 comment

unreadinspring
This spring I’ve been devoting a fair amount of my energy to creative pursuits (mostly sketching), somewhat to the detriment of my reading time. (Also, I’m moving again, which makes me even more tired than usual and seems to eat up most of my dedicated reading time.)

I’ve also been restraining myself when it comes to loading up on inter-library loan books, usually a weakness of mine, so I don’t have piles of tantalizing, unread, judgmental library books hanging around the house.

All the same, even without such temptations, there are a few books I simply was not able to finish over the past few months for one reason or another. So what didn’t I read this spring? Here are the highlights:

The Rabbit Back Literature Society
by Pasi Ilmari Jaaskelainen
This one came highly recommended and I had to wait months for it to come it at the library, so I was extra-disappointed to return it to the library unfinished. I found the writing to be listless (translation problems, I hope), the plot jumpy with gaping holes of time and logic (to the point where I vaguely wondered it if was supposed to be a surreal novel, but eventually decided not), and the characters strangely un-compelling. It had a lot of promising elements going for it, but I just couldn’t engage.

Carnet de Voyage
by Craig Thompson
A+ for the aesthetics of this graphic travelogue, but my appreciation for the physicality of the book was not enough to boost me through Craig Thompson’s tale of his wanderings in Europe. For inward-looking, deeply personal books like these, you really have to like the narrator (see: Lucy Knisley) and I just didn’t find Thompson, or his problems, particularly engrossing.

Ella Minnow Pea
by Mark Dunn
Mark Dunn’s books are best read in one full sitting, even the really long ones, to best appreciate the detail of the worlds he creates. Ella Minnow Pea is probably one of his shortest, but I still somehow couldn’t carve out enough time to really dig in.

The Moon and the Sun
by Vonda N. McIntyre
For some reason, I need to be in a very specific mindset to enjoy tales of decadent French courts of yore. As it was, that very specific mindset entirely eluded me for the entire time I had Vonda N. McIntyre’s allegedly excellent The Moona and the Sun out from the library. And so it remained unread. I have high hopes for this one being a summer read, perhaps enjoyed in a hammock on a sunny day.

So what did you enjoy this spring? And what languished?

Entry filed under: Musings and Essays. Tags: , , , .

Coming Clean by Kimberly Rae Miller By Blood We Live by Glen Duncan

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Eva  |  May 29, 2015 at 3:53 pm

    I pretty much had a fantasy fest this spring! And an ‘all favourite authors all the time’ fest too. Both of which seem to have resparked my reading mojo, which is very exciting. I plan to get back into reading more variety soon, but it’s been so nice to spend almost all of my time in the very best of author hands.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 132 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


