A Song of Ice and Fire: On Finishing (and not)

April 22, 2015 at 10:10 am 5 comments

ADanceWithDragons_zps9968a1beI finally finished the five current books in the A Song of Ice and Fire series. My best estimate is that this took me about two months of really solid reading — reading every second I could, including all through an airplane trip to Austin.

It’s a strange feeling, finishing something this huge. One major feeling is relief — phew! It’s done! I can move on to my other books! But because the last book published is not actually the last book in the series (we have at least two more to go), there’s this lingering sense of anticipation, of disappointment, of open-endedness.

What will happen to all of the characters? Will we ever find out how one managed to survive being hanged, how another arrived on the scene just in time? What is going on with the characters who have been missing for one or two books? Who will get their comeuppance, and who will ride the dragons? WHO IS DEAD AND WHO IS NOT?

This is hardly a new problem. Epic series such as Earth’s Children by Jean M. Auel and, more recently, the Harry Potter books, have taken decades to finish storylines — 30 years in the case of Ms. Auel’s series. There were 12 years in between Ms. Auel’s The Plains of Passage and The Shelters of Stone, 10 years between The Shelters of Stone and The Land of Painted Caves, the final book in the series. This makes the six-year wait between George R. R. Martin’s A Feast for Crows and A Dance with Dragons seem like nothing. In this age of the internet and instant content, however, there are fans clamoring for blood because Mr. Martin has been working on his latest book for four years. You know, the massive 1,500-page tome with an enormous amount of pressure on it that needs to begin to gather disparate characters and amazingly complex storylines together.

Unlike so many fans, I don’t wish Mr. Martin would hurry it up. I think he should take as much time as he needs to make the series match his vision, and I don’t think he “owes” his readers anything regarding completion. He is a man writing what is the biggest, most complex story not only of his life, but potentially of our era. This is a legacy he’s building, a timeless story that will be read for generations, like The Lord of the Rings trilogy. He definitely should not rush the process for the sake of some whiny readers.

That being said, I do wonder how to cope with this gap in my reading. Do I read the series over and over and over again? Do I join the vast legions of fans out there formulating crazy theories about where the series is going to go? Do I try to determine who the “mummer’s dragon” is?

Help me, LT readers. Have you ever been in this situation? What did you do?

Entry filed under: Fantasy. Tags: , , , .

‘On the Map’ by Simon Garfield ‘The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up’ by Marie Kondo

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Corey  |  April 22, 2015 at 4:32 pm

    The only comparable thing I can think of is the interminable wait I faced between The Falcon at the Portal and He Shall Thunder in the Sky. I don’t know what I did with myself, other than exercise extreme patience and experiment with other offerings by Elizabeth Peters and her various pseudonyms.

    In the case of Martin, one of the most intriguing things about the series (to me, anyway) has always been its inspiration in English history. Maybe reading about betrayals and bastard children in the medieval world would scratch the itch a little? (Also, I understand Daenerys is somewhat based on Cleopatra? So much history to explore!)

    Or, I suppose, you can distract yourself with the Harry Potter series, which is tremendously addictive and far easier to reread more regularly. :)

    Reply
    • 2. Kate  |  April 22, 2015 at 6:27 pm

      How could I have forgotten Elizabeth Peters? I do think that Martin’s other works are enjoying a renaissance because people are turning to them in lieu of a new ASOIF book.

      You’re right, part of what I love about Martin is how the main court of Westeros is very heavily derived from English history, at least in feeling. Thanks for the recommendation!

      Reply
      • 3. Corey  |  April 23, 2015 at 11:25 am

        I didn’t actually know Martin had other books! That being the case, yes, go forth and read them! Also, let me know if you discover any particularly great War of the Roses reads. I love them and am always looking for new recommendations! (And if you haven’t already, try Alison Weir’s War of the Roses. I remember enjoying it a great deal when I read it back in ’08.)

        Reply
        • 4. Kate  |  April 23, 2015 at 3:17 pm

          I was so hoping that Alison Weir had something on the War of the Roses! Thank you :)

  • […] trilogy. I’m the kind of reader content to wait until a series is complete, rather than suffer through long waits between books, so I had held out and not touched The Magician King or The Magician’s Land. Now, in my […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 132 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


