Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? And Other Concerns

March 10, 2015 at 12:16 am 2 comments

mindy-kaling-new-book-11Full disclosure: I didn’t read this book. I listened to it on CD in my car while driving back and forth to work and to a freelance gig. And while there is much debate about whether or not audiobooks should count as reading, I think the format actually worked very well in this case. I got to hear Kaling read her own words in her own voice, much the way I imagine she’d sound if we were just chatting — though her “list” pieces may have worked better in book form.

Still. The book is sort of a memoir and sort of not. I’m not really sure what to call it — Kaling says it’s a series of short essays on her life and other “list-type pieces” such as a recitation of things that make her cry and things stylists try to make her wear. She talks about her childhood, about how she came up in comedy, how she started working at The Office, and how she is different from her character, Kelly Kipoor.

It does seem a little disjointed, but I think that’s because of the episodic nature of the stories. They start in roughly chronological order, but, when she reaches the present, it kind of turns into a ramble, like…like you’re on the phone with your best friend and suddenly the conversation has gone on too long and you’re both running out of material. If I was reading this book, I would have gone through it so fast that this wouldn’t have mattered, but in audiobook form, it was harder.

Still. I ended this book feeling like I’d just spent several hours with Mindy Kaling, which was delightful. She is insightful and smart and funny, and since she read her own book, I felt there was some added value from her acting, eliminating ambiguity in meaning.Even B. J. Novak got in on it. And I learned something! I had no idea that the executive producer for The Office created King of the Hill. I feel more culturally aware already.

If I had one criticism, it’s that I’m not sure what the goal was. Was it meant to entertain? Wreak revenge on those who have wronged Mindy Kaling? (If so, too bad she wrote it before that guy thought she was Malala.) Provide a road map for young women who are funny/big boned/smart/Indian and want to make it in comedy or screenwriting? To build the Mindy Kaling brand? I enjoyed it, don’t get me wrong, but I wish it had had more direction. Though maybe I’m missing the point.

Entry filed under: Memoir/Autobiography, Non-fiction. Tags: , .

We are monsters Library Loot: Week of March 9

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Corey  |  March 16, 2015 at 11:46 am

    What an interesting perspective on the whole audiobook/reading debate. I would imagine that listening to an author read his or her book aloud is actually a pretty great experience. (See also: Neil Gaiman. I think I loved The Ocean at the End of the Lane more than I would have otherwise simply because I attended a reading of it.) I’ll keep this on my maybe list and definitely go with the audiobook if I do read it.

    Reply
  • 2. ‘Bossypants’ by Tina Fey | Literary Transgressions  |  October 15, 2015 at 3:21 am

    […] Kate has written about Mindy Kaling’s entrant into this same genre of “autobiographical comedy […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 135 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


