Things I didn’t read in January

January 27, 2015 at 6:59 am 2 comments

Courtesy of Book Splendour

“Janvier,” Alphonse Mucha

As seems to happen every year, January was a graveyard of unread books for me. I’m not sure why, but this month is annually my Worst Month Ever when it comes to reading. Something about the dreariness of the post-holiday season? I don’t know what’s wrong with me, but I swear every January, I just can’t get in to reading.

This year’s January of Reading Doom was helped and hindered by my on-going interlibrary loan addiction. I ordered so many books this month. And I read probably one. Flipped through a few. And, of course, mentally promised to re-order and read them at another time, in another mood. Probably in springtime.

So what didn’t I read this month? Here are the highlights:

The Paying Guests by Sarah Waters
On the plus side, I love Sarah Waters. Fingersmith is genius. On the negative side, divided reviews from friends (one liked it okay and one hated it — hardly a reassuring consensus). Anyone out there care to break the stalemate?

Land of Love and Drowning by Tiphanie Yanique
A Book Riot recommendation that lost me when a written accent made its unfortunate debut a couple of chapters in. Writing a dialect out in prose is high on my Top Ten Book Peeves List (possibly at the top of the list), so the minute that started, I was out.

The Brotherhood of Book Hunters by Raphael Jerusalmy
I am SO EXCITED about this one. It looks like another promising entry in the bookish mystery genre, but for some reason I just haven’t been in the mood. I’ve been renewing it for weeks in hopes the right mood will descend because it looks so good.

Almost Famous Women by Megan Mayhew Bergman
Mini-bios of incredible, but forgotten, women in history? YES PLEASE. Alas, this one also fell victim to the January Graveyard for absolutely no good reason. Maybe in spring.

On Histories and Stories by A.S. Byatt
I haven’t read a Byatt in far too long and Eva of A Striped Armchair (the person almost entirely responsible for my ever-growing Byatt affection) recommended this one. It looks amazing, and yet…. I’m hoping by spring my brain will be sufficiently unfrozen to tackle this one.

So what did you read this month? And what languished? And does anyone else suffer from this weird January reading malaise? Or is that just me?

Entry filed under: Musings and Essays. Tags: , , , , , .

‘The Serif Fairy’ by Rene Siegfried ‘The Culture Clash’ by Jean Donaldson

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kate  |  March 2, 2015 at 4:33 pm

    Am I the one who kind of liked “The Paying Guests”? If not…it’s fine, but not stellar. Better to read “The Little Stranger,” in my opinion!

    Reply
    • 2. Corey  |  March 9, 2015 at 3:45 pm

      Yes, you are! I still haven’t re-ordered it, but you’re right that I should read “The Little Stranger.” It’s more like “Fingersmith,” right?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 133 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


