A Purposeful Year: Corey’s 2015 Reading Plans

January 9, 2015 at 5:28 am 4 comments

After a highly successful and highly regimented eight weeks of reading at the end of 2014, I’ve decided to approach my reading in 2015 with similar attention. Surely if reading is my favorite hobby, it deserves the thoughtfulness and attention I give to other flightier fancies.

Firstly, 2015 will be the first year I’m participating in a reading challenge. My housemate Brittany found the Popsugar 2015 Reading Challenge and invited me to participate with her, so I’ll be checking things off this list throughout the year.

popsugar-challenge

I’m not sure about “A book that made you cry” (they rarely do), “A book that takes place in your hometown” (Williamsville, NY? Can I count Los Angeles instead? Or maybe Buffalo?), and “A book written by an author with your same initials” (CFB?!), but here goes nothing!

I’m also going to combine it with Book Riot’s Read Harder Challenge. A lot of the requirements are the same, but I want to give both a try!

  • A book written by someone when they were under the age of 25
  • A book written by someone when they were over the age of 65
  • A collection of short stories (either by one person or an anthology by many people)
  • A book published by an indie press
  • A book by or about someone that identifies as LGBTQ
  • A book by a person whose gender is different from your own
  • A book that takes place in Asia
  • A book by an author from Africa
  • A book that is by or about someone from an indigenous culture (Native Americans, Aboriginals, etc.)
  • A microhistory
  • A YA novel
  • A sci-fi novel
  • A romance novel
  • A National Book Award, Man Booker Prize or Pulitzer Prize winner from the last decade
  • A book that is a retelling of a classic story (fairytale, Shakespearian play, classic novel, etc.)
  • An audiobook
  • A collection of poetry
  • A book that someone else has recommended to you
  • A book that was originally published in another language
  • A graphic novel, a graphic memoir or a collection of comics of any kind
  • A book that you would consider a guilty pleasure (Read, and then realize that good entertainment is nothing to feel guilty over)
  • A book published before 1850
  • A book published this year
  • A self-improvement book (can be traditionally or non-traditionally considered “self-improvement”)

Second, there are a pile of books that I’ve been vaguely wanting to read for some time now and I figure an organized To Be Read (TBR) List should help me a) remember what they are and b) focus on reading them. This list is likely to expand and shift, but to kick off the year, here are some reading goals:

Classics
Middlemarch by George Eliot – Now I just have to find my copy…

The Forsyte Saga (books II and III) by John Glasworthy – Book I was a delight, so I have high hopes for the next two.

Contemporary Fiction (aka: catching up on Booker Winners)
The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton

Oscar and Lucinda by Peter Carey

Bring Up the Bodies by Hilary Mantel

Nonfiction
A Degree of Mastery: A Journey through Book Arts Apprenticeship by Annie Tremmel Wilcox

Blue Mind: The Surprising Science That Shows How Being Near, In, On, or Under Water Can Make You Happier, Healthier, More Connected, and Better at What You Do by Wallace J. Nichols

Of course, the minute I wrote these down, the list felt incomplete, like I’m missing something. Which, of course, I undoubtedly am. Hopefully I’ll remember what they are in good time. We’ll see how it all goes!

So now that a new year is upon us, tell me: what are your 2015 reading goals? How’s the ole TBR list looking?

Entry filed under: Collections and Lists. Tags: , , , .

The LT Year in Reading: 2014 Edition ‘The Bookman’s Tale’ by Charlie Lovett

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kate  |  February 19, 2015 at 3:35 pm

    If I may…

    1) The Art of Racing in the Rain made me bawl like a small child denied ice cream. I had to lock myself in my bedroom to finish it in private.

    2) Broke Heart Blues by Joyce Carol Oates takes place in Williamsville, though she calls it “Willowsville.”

    Reply
    • 2. Corey  |  February 19, 2015 at 3:57 pm

      1) YES.

      2) I actually went to her first instinctively (she is a Williamsville South High School Hall of Famer, after all), but didn’t make the connection between Willowsville and Williamsville. Thank you! Have you read it? Do you recommend it? Otherwise, after some digging I did find some good LA options!

      Reply
  • […] 2015, I decided to be more thoughtful and intentional with my reading choices by signing up for two Reading Challenges, one from Popsugar and one from Book Riot. Since I’m […]

    Reply
  • […] the start of 2015, I set out to have the most intentional and thoughtful year of reading ever. I wanted to read with purpose, focusing on books both inside and outside my comfort zone that were […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 132 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


