A year in reading: The final ten

November 13, 2014 at 7:48 am 2 comments

fall2010books
At the beginning of the year, I made a silent goal for myself: I would read 50 books in 2014.

In 2013, I read 43. In 2012, 40. In 2011, even with completing my MA and moving continents, I somehow managed to read 45. I figured I could push myself onwards to the inevitable next plateau: FIFTY IN 2014!

There are right now just eight weeks left in 2014 (a startling enough revelation on its own) and I’m at 40 books read for the year. This means I have eight weeks left to top off ten books, which inevitably led me to wonder: which ones should they be?

My “To Be Read” list is extensive and has, in the last few months, been largely predicated on what books have come in at the library. The very last inter-library loan book I’ve requested is coming in this week (How Fiction Works by James Wood), so I’m more free to set my own pace at this point. (As long as I can stop myself from requesting anything more in the next eight weeks. We’ll see how that goes.)

Because I have librarianship in my blood, this “which books will finish my year?” question could really only be solved with a list. In fact, a categorized list. I’ve given myself five categories, with two books each, so I’m not glutting myself on any particular genre in the next eight weeks.

This might just be the most thoughtful eight weeks of reading in my entire life. Here we go!

Classic Literature
1. The Man of Property by John Galsworthy (The Forsyte Saga: Book I) – finished 11/20/2014
2. Westwood by Stella Gibbons – finished December 6, 2014

Children’s Literature
3. The Westing Game by Ellen RaskinReviewed 11/18/2014
4. Through the Looking Glass by Lewis CarrollDiscussed 11/25/2014

Graphic Novels/Comic Books
5. Velvet by Ed Brubaker
6. Pretty Deadly by Kelly Sue Deconnick – finished 11/18/2014

Nonfiction
7. Travels with Charley by John Steinbeck – finished 11/18/2014
8. Blue Mind: The surprising science that shows how being near, in, on, or under water can make you happier, healthier, more connected, and better at what you do by Wallace Nichols
EDIT November 18: What I Was Doing While You Were Breeding: A Memoir by Kristin Newman – finished 11/23/2014

Recommended Reading: Books suggested by friends
9. The Rise and Fall of Great Powers by Tom Rachman Reviewed 12/1/2014
10. Like Water for Chocolate by Laura Esquivel – Finished December 7, 2014

What do you have on deck for the rest of the year? Chime in below!

Entry filed under: Collections and Lists, Musings and Essays. Tags: , , .

‘Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking’ by Susan Cain ‘The Westing Game’ by Ellen Raskin

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amanda  |  November 13, 2014 at 10:44 am

    I’ve never read Like Water for Chocolate, but it’s been on my “to read” list. Also, I think you still haven’t read A Tree Grows in Brooklyn? Might be tough for end of year, but I just want to give my two thumbs up for that one!

    Reply
    • 2. Corey  |  November 13, 2014 at 11:05 am

      Funnily enough, I originally had ‘A Tree Grows in Brooklyn’ on my list, but then worried it would be too long to get through what with all the others! We’ll see how it goes. For some reason, it seems like a good book to read about Christmastime. Heart-warming?

      And Sheryl has been telling me to read ‘Like Water for Chocolate’ for literally years and I just picked up a free copy last month, so I felt like I had to include that one! :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 132 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


