Library Loot: Week of October 6

October 10, 2014 at 10:36 am 2 comments

Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Linda from Silly Little Mischief that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library.

After promising myself to not go quite so overboard with interlibrary loan henceforth, last week I subscribed to the amazing Book Riot and got completely sucked into their excellent and seemingly endless stream of book recommendations. The long list of books I requested started coming in this week, so I’ll just be holed up in my room reading for the next few weeks. In case you were looking for me.

brokenmonsters
Broken Monsters by Lauren Beukes
I’m actually not 100% sure about this one and may end up swapping it for Beukes’ earlier novel, The Shining Girls. Both seem a little violent for my taste, but come so highly recommended! Can anyone who has already read either one assuage my concerns (or warn me off!)?

rosieproject
The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion
I actually found this one on the Indie Next list from IndieBound, not Book Riot, but all the same it sounds super-charming and very Beginner’s Greek-ish. I haven’t actually seen many books in that ilk (i.e. novels that are unapologetically romantic without veering into sex-obsessed romance novel or chick lit territory) in the intervening years, so I’m really looking forward to this one.

What did you all pick up this week? I still have five books en route to me as I type this, to prepare for further adventures in library books coming soon!

Entry filed under: Collections and Lists. Tags: , , , .

‘The Boys in the Boat’ by Daniel James Brown A Conversation on YA (Part I)

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Linda  |  October 10, 2014 at 4:12 pm

    My husband is currently reading Broken Monsters. I downloaded The Rosie Project for my kindle but haven’t gotten around to reading it.

    Reply
    • 2. Corey  |  October 10, 2014 at 4:30 pm

      Is he enjoying Broken Monsters? What’s the verdict?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 135 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


