Library Loot: Week of September 15

September 18, 2014 at 6:34 am 6 comments

Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Linda from Silly Little Mischief that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library.

I still wasn’t quite done with all my books from my last haul (I’m looking at you, Vita Sackville-West!), but a few more inter-library loan requests arrived this week with impressive speed.

illusive
Illusive by Emily Lloyd-Jones
I discovered this “X-Men meets Ocean’s 11” novel in my last go-round of Library Loot from Kay at It’s a Book Life. Can’t wait to dig in—the GoodReads reviews are uniformly glowing!

what-we-see
What We See When We Read by Peter Mendelsund
Can’t quite remember where I found out about this one, but it sounds amazing. Same goes for the cover and general design of the book—stunning.

Also this week, I made my first trip out to Nantucket’s own literally-titled “take it or a leave it,” a remarkable place where people drop off all manner of randomness and either depart empty-handed or come away with someone else’s randomness. It’s a total melee, but it also has an incredible book room, which is piled high (and low) with gently-used and completely free books. I consider this something of a library (after all, the books most often end up returned) and took the following from the take it or leave it this week:

yiddish-police
The Yiddish Policemen’s Union by Michael Chabon
I’m willing to try pretty much anything by the man who created The Escapist.

water-chocolate
Like Water for Chocolate by Laura Esquivel
Long-recommended by my friend Sheryl and finally to have its day in the sun!

devil-white
The Devil in the White City: Murder, Magic, and Madness at the Fair that Changed America by Erik Larson
I feel like everyone has read this book and/or told me to read this book at one point or another.

Entry filed under: Collections and Lists. Tags: , , , , .

‘The Miniaturist’ by Jessie Burton ‘Stoner’ by John Williams

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Linda  |  September 18, 2014 at 11:28 am

    I enjoyed The Devil In The White City. Enjoy your loot.

    Reply
    • 2. Corey  |  September 18, 2014 at 11:31 am

      Thanks! I’ve been on a fiction run, so I’m looking forward to some good nonfiction.

      Reply
  • 3. everydayhas  |  September 18, 2014 at 10:17 pm

    I have some bad advice for you re Devil in the White City. You can just read the engineering chapters and skip the devil-y ones. :)

    Reply
    • 4. Corey  |  September 19, 2014 at 8:27 am

      Haha, I’ll bear that in mind once I get cracking!

      Reply
  • 5. ejmam  |  September 19, 2014 at 4:21 am

    I liked Devil and Chocolate, but I bounced off Yiddish Policemen. Hope you have better luck with the latter!

    Reply
    • 6. Corey  |  September 19, 2014 at 8:28 am

      Yeah, Chabon has been touch and go in my experience. I adored Kavalier and Clay, but have had a harder time getting into some of his other stuff. We’ll see with this one, I guess!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 135 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


