Library Loot: Week of September 1

September 4, 2014 at 5:04 am 4 comments

Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Linda from Silly Little Mischief that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library.

Increasingly, I use my inter-library loan privileges as a To Be Read list of their own. When someone recommends something, I request it from the library and settle in to wait until it comes in. Whenever that happens is a pleasant reminder that it’s time to check one more book off my TBR list.

This week, unfortunately, three books I’d requested over the past few months all arrived at the library at the same time! Cut to two weeks of reading furiously.

Physical Books:
stonerStoner by John Williams
Recommended by Lisa Hill!

miniaturistThe Miniaturist by Jessie Burton
Recommended by NYMag as one of the “hottest titles at Book Expo 2014.”

allpassionspentAll Passion Spent by Vita Sackville-West
This is my New York Book Club‘s September/October pick and I’m looking forward to reading along as their long-distance member.

Kindle Books:

Meanwhile, I use my Kindle pretty much only when I travel and even then I’m still reluctant to actually pay for books on it. Ergo, library loot on my Kindle!

The Secret History by Donna Tartt
When the New York Times wrote of Lev Grossman’s amazing The Magicians as “like The Secret History crossed with Harry Potter“, and I hadn’t heard of, let alone read, one of those books, I knew I had a new entry on my TBR list.

(And, in the interest of full disclosure, I actually got this book out of the library twice over—first as a physical book and then I switched to Kindle in preparation for a lengthy plane journey to Charleston.)

Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy by John le Carré
I’ve been wanting to read something by le Carré forever. Aforementioned recent plane journey seemed as good a time as any to load one of his books up on my Kindle.

The Prague Cemetery by Umberto Eco
Yes, I own this in hardback. But I still wanted to have it on my Kindle in case I ran out of other reading material during my trip.

Entry filed under: Collections and Lists. Tags: , , , .

Literary Transgression: Reading Magazines ‘The Secret History’ by Donna Tartt

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ejmam  |  September 6, 2014 at 12:49 am

    Fun loot! I know the feeling of having all the library holds cascade in at once. And I’ve also checked out both the paper copy of a book and the ebook version so I have a copy to read at home, curled up with a book, and a copy to bring on the road, safely tucked into my NOOK.

    Enjoy, and good luck finishing everything.

    Reply
    • 2. Corey  |  September 6, 2014 at 3:48 pm

      Thanks for the luck! I’m about halfway through The Miniaturist, so I’m on track. :)

      Reply
  • 3. Linda  |  September 9, 2014 at 11:16 am

    I love the cover of The Miniaturist. Enjoy your loot.

    Reply
    • 4. Corey  |  September 9, 2014 at 11:30 am

      Isn’t it great? Major graphic design props!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 133 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


