Literary Transgression: Reading Magazines

September 2, 2014 at 4:38 am 2 comments

magazines
Can we talk about magazines? I feel like magazines get pretty short shrift on blogs about reading and books (i.e. they are never, ever mentioned), which makes them a perfect fit for a blog called “Literary Transgressions”! I’ve been reading a few back-issues of New York lately as part of my goal to make time to read everyday and have come to conclusion that magazines should have their day in the book blog sun.

In particular, I’ve been wondering what magazines the bookish of the world gravitate towards. In my ideal world, I would be able to subscribe to a magazine that focused on all aspects of bookishness, from the act of reading itself to book history to publishing to design. I want literary essays (a la Anne Fadiman’s Ex Libris and Alberto Manguel’s The Library At Night), obligatory book recommendations (perhaps categorized by type of reader, rather than type of book), a section about typography, something about book history, and a funny little page at the back with a personal essay or cartoon about the reading experience.

Does this exist already? Because I have my wallet out ready to subscribe if someone could only point me in the right direction.

As it is, I think The London Review of Books seems closest, although their scope is even more catholic than my ideal. I’m most excited about the possibilities offered by Slightly Foxed, but have never actually seen a copy.

Then there’s Bookmarks, which focuses solely on book reviews and recommendations in such a dizzying spread that I think I would be stunned into readerly immobility. And, of course, there’s The New Yorker, which isn’t strictly about books, but seems to appeal to the bookish set.

So what magazines do you subscribe to? Any particulars you’d recommend?

Entry filed under: Musings and Essays, Transgressions. Tags: , , , .

How to form a new book club in 4 easy steps! Library Loot: Week of September 1

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kate  |  September 2, 2014 at 9:48 pm

    Oh, dear. Our house has Real Simple, Bottom Line Personal, Kiplinger’s, and sometimes Glamour or National Geographic, usually if I’ve just been in an airport. I definitely enjoy magazines, but I typically am so involved in whatever book I’m reading that moment that I usually don’t turn to one. I loved hearing your thoughts, though!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 131 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


