Midsummer Reading Challenge: Making Time To Read

August 4, 2014 at 1:39 am 6 comments

20140801_180340
When I got a new job and started walking to work a few years ago, I quickly noticed that the amount of reading I did decreased substantially. Without the 45-minute subway commute, my dedicated reading time had suddenly evaporated.

If it had been factored into my day before, why couldn’t I just set aside the time I was saving by walking to work and read then? Surely reading in the comfort my own home, as opposed to a crowded and noisy subway car, would be preferable. Somehow it never worked. The dog wanted to play or a crossword puzzle was almost solved and couldn’t be set aside or I simply decided to sleep in.

And so I thought it would always be. Imagine my surprise this spring when I challenged myself to work through my “to be read” shelf before moving and—lo and behold!—it actually worked! Suddenly that hour and a half for reading, and often even more than that, was back in my days. Books breezed by and I had my most productive period of reading in years.

So what changed? Was it just determination? Perhaps a set goal? And could it really be that simple?

Apparently so! I’ve now been here on my new island home for two months and I’m once again walking to work. My reading is regular, but not the furious, delicious flurry of the pre-move spring.

So if it’s just determination and a set goal that is required, get ready blogosphere! My newly-declared midsummer reading challenge is thus:

I’m going to work through all the “To Be Read” books I brought with me from New York by reading every single day, even if it’s only for a few minutes.

I am simply going to make time to read.

This means you, A Tree Grows in Brooklyn. I’m finally finishing you, A Reader on Reading. Get ready, The Adventures of Sindbad. And I’m coming for you, The Prague Cemetery.

And I’d love company! So join me a little midsummer reading challenge to get through as much of your “To Be Read” shelf as you can. I look forward to hearing about your exploits and watch this space to read more about mine. Onwards, stalwart readers!

Entry filed under: Musings and Essays. Tags: , , , .

Fairy Tale Friday: ‘Fables’ Collected Editions 1-3 by Bill Willingham ‘Travels with Casey’ by Benoit Denizet-Lewis

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. neuroticmom  |  August 4, 2014 at 11:21 am

    I am surprised, have you never read A Tree Grows in Brooklyn before or is it a reread? One of my all time favorite classic books. I will say I wasn’t crazy about her other books I read, but this one I have gone back to a read several times over the years.

    Reply
    • 2. Corey  |  August 4, 2014 at 11:34 am

      First time! Kate’s been telling me to read it for years and I bought a copy in good faith quite a while ago so I could finally do so. And then it just sat on my shelf! For years! But I’m really looking forward to reading it this month. :)

      Reply
  • 3. Kate  |  August 4, 2014 at 11:29 am

    Yes! I will join you! I’m still working through a TBR list, and I keep realizing that I have a number of books on my Kindle to be read as well…gah. To reading productivity!

    Reply
    • 4. Corey  |  August 4, 2014 at 11:35 am

      Huzzah! It feels like such an accomplishment to work through the ole TBR list. It’s such a long-gestating thing that actually going through it feels like a spring cleaning delayed for years. *sigh of contentment*

      Reply
    • 5. neuroticmom  |  August 4, 2014 at 11:53 am

      Well I don’t know about you two but it seems every time I get a book off my list I end up adding 2-3 more! I keep track of them on goodreads but it seems the list never goes down.

      Reply
  • […] Transgressions”! I’ve been reading a few back-issues of New York lately as part of my goal to make time to read everyday and have come to conclusion that magazines should have their day in the book blog […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 135 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


