Fairy Tale Friday: (Sort of) Forgotten Childhood Favorites

June 8, 2012 at 12:00 am 4 comments


This post is part of our weekly Fairy Tale Friday feature/meme co-hosted with Books4Learning.

I’ve always been struck by how affected we are by books we read (or, more likely, read to us) in our early years. The ones we read ourselves in our remembered childhoods are less surprising; of course they resonated—they were the first books we actually, personally devoured. But the ones I find truly shocking in their emotional and psychological effect are the ones we don’t necessarily remember. The ones read to us before we have particularly firm memories of anything, let alone books.

I think fairy tales often fall into this category since they are so commonly (and strangely, considering much of their content) read to children. There’s plenty of opportunity for subconscious internalization with stories like these, but even I didn’t know how much until some recent chance book encounters.

A few months ago, it was Oscar Wilde’s The Happy Prince. Being so young and then forgetting about it for so many years, I didn’t even know it was Oscar Wilde, as in THE Oscar Wilde, not just some authorial Oscar Wilde who wrote one children’s book and disappeared from the annals of bibliography. Rather than focusing on the author, I found myself I remembering the story mostly for the sparrow and some beautiful illustrations by an illustrator who has evidently disappeared from the annals of bibliography.

This week, this phenomenon of forgotten, but beloved, childhood fairy tales came in the form of a recommended book on Amazon. It was Bony-Legs by Joanna Cole. I’m not sure how popular this book actually was, but the minute I saw the cover, I had to grin. I adored this book and its vaguely Eastern European illustrations. It’s not a particularly pleasant story, but the house with chicken feet and the magical properties of the heroine’s comb stayed with me for years, even as I couldn’t remember what story they came from.

I know I got a healthy helping of this particular genre in my youth, but I am always surprised by ones I loved but forgot somewhere in between age 6 and 26. And, every time this happens—every single time—their resonance shocks me. I may have forgotten them for years, but the minute they are presented to me again, my brain positively floods with positive emotion. These were my favorites and I would read them again in a heartbeat. Not to mention read them to any nearby tiny children!

I’d love to hear from you all with your forgotten childhood favorite fairy tales. Even if you can’t remember titles or authors, I’ll bet you can remember snippets that captured your imagination for all these years. Chime in below!

Also, since we’ve been having weekly issues with the linky for Fairy Tale Friday, just comment below with your Fairy Tale Friday posts and people can click over to your site from there! Hopefully that’s cool with all involved.

Entry filed under: Children and Young Adult, Fairy Tale Friday. Tags: , , , , , .

London’s Sinful Secret by George Cruickshank Neil Gaiman’s short stories

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dad  |  June 8, 2012 at 12:08 pm

    Who can forget those children’s classics “Let’s Get Turtles” the riveting and detailed(!) saga of two friends and a turtle or “the Secret Three” which cannot actually be discussed because it’s a secret! :)

    Reply
  • 2. Fairy Tale Friday – Another Look at Rapunzel |  |  June 8, 2012 at 3:47 pm

    […] time for another fairy tale!  I’m linking this post up with the Fairy Tale Friday meme on Books4Learning and Literary […]

    Reply
  • 3. Jessica Grey (@_JessicaGrey)  |  June 8, 2012 at 4:07 pm

    There’s a story included in a collection of fairy tales about a princess named Esmerelda who is unattractive…her nose turns up when it should turn down, and her mouth turns down when it should turn up, etc. I cannot remember the name of the story for the life of me, but I adored it as a child. As soon as I remember (likely at 3 am) I’ll comment again!

    Here’s my weekly post: http://authorjessicagrey.com/2012/06/fairy-tale-friday-another-look-at-rapunzel/

    Reply
  • 4. Books 4 Learning  |  June 8, 2012 at 5:49 pm

    There are a few tales that stick with me of which I can’t remember their names. One specifically I have search for. It was the story of these 3 children who came to stay with their grandparents for the summer. They were staying on a lake and their was a mysterious house on the other side. I just remember enjoying the book. I even found it in college at a thrift store, only to forget the title again. The cover had the three children in a row boat on the lake looking at this big, run-down castle like house.

    I wrote about a new fairy tale themed book: Storybound. http://bit.ly/MhYpMh

    Also, if you need help with the linky, let me know.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 135 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


