Teaser Tuesday: Long Lost Blogger Edition

October 18, 2011 at 6:18 pm 6 comments


Hey guys! Remember me? Kate and I have been deplorably negligent of this ole blog over the past few months—Kate because she was off having a life and being a kick-butt reporter and me because of all the insanity associated with finishing my degree, moving house across an ocean, and starting my new job all at the same time.

That said, I hope with this post to turn over a new blogging leaf and once again post regularly. Since finishing my dissertation, I’ve been reading for pleasure much, much more (thank the heavens). Thus a Teaser Tuesday seemed in order! Below are some random passages from books I’ve already read, I hope to read, or have just been hanging around my bookshelves too long not to post about. Consider these teasers for forthcoming posts!

And I’d love to catch up with all of you and hear about what you’ve been reading. Share some teasers of your own in the comments section!

“Several months later, once he decides she is ready, the magicians writes a letter of his own. He includes no address, but it reads its destination across the ocean nonetheless.”
The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

“As the bus turned onto Route 9, Celia pulled a fat slice of sour cream coffee cake from her purse. She was almost there. She took a big bite and closed her eyes.”
Commencement by J. Courtney Sullivan

“After he left, I packed up my drawing kit, and then—without any thought of the consequences—I approached the Nike one last time and bent to kiss her foot. The guard was on me in a second, roaring, actually collaring me. I’ve never been thrown out of a bar, but that day I was thrown out of a one-guard museum.”
The Swan Thieves by Elizabeth Kostova

“My desk at work had become a canyon floor between two unstable formations of contracts. And so the day she left we had taken the bus before my usual one and drank a cup of cofee at the jett cafe. That cafe, there.”
Ghostwritten by David Mitchell

“I wrote to the archivist and asked it any of the answers to these messages had been preserved. She wrote back, still amiably, saying no, and that there was a note saying Aloysisus Holly always replied in his own hand, on carefully selected postcards. I could see the royalty statements if I liked.”
The Biographer’s Tale by A.S. Byatt

–Corey

Entry filed under: Teaser Tuesday. Tags: , , , , .

Classics Challenge: ‘I Capture the Castle’ Discussion The Biographer’s Tale by A.S. Byatt

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Eva  |  October 18, 2011 at 9:28 pm

    Congrats on all the life changes Corey! :) I’m glad to see you’re planning on sticking w the blog, and I can’t wait to find out your impression of The Biographer’s Tale.

    Reply
    • 2. Corey  |  October 18, 2011 at 10:41 pm

      Thanks, Eva! At the moment my impressions of ‘The Biographer’s Tale’ can be summed up in one word: curious. I hope to elaborate in an actual post soon!

      Reply
  • 3. Julie @ Read Handed  |  October 19, 2011 at 4:29 pm

    Busy, busy! Great assortment of teasers. I like the Byatt one the best. Thanks for sharing. If you get a chance, my teaser is here.

    Reply
    • 4. Corey  |  October 19, 2011 at 5:08 pm

      Thanks! I’ve been reading all over the place lately, which I think is definitely reflected in the teasers! :)

      Reply
  • 5. Britney  |  October 19, 2011 at 9:14 pm

    I really need to get myself a copy of The Night Circus. :)

    Reply
    • 6. Corey  |  October 20, 2011 at 8:34 am

      You do, you do! I’m seriously on the verge of taking a vow to read only magic-related books since I always enjoy them so much. :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 135 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


