Book Check!

June 20, 2011 at 12:00 am 8 comments


Okay, dear readers, it’s book check time: What are you all currently reading?

At the moment, I’m giving The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo a go since picking up a bedraggled and water-warped copy in the Oxfam trash bin (for some reason, it was and is not a book I wanted to spend money actually buying). I’ve heard really wonderful things about it and, while it seems to have the potential to be a sort of Da Vinci Code trendy book, it also seems much smarter and sharper than that former craze. I’ll let you know when I finish it; I’m just getting into it. Still not gripped by the collar and bodily dragged into the plot, but perhaps that comes later.

I also picked up H.V. Morton’s In Search of England which is the travel memoir of a British man who, at the start of the book, has lived abroad for a long time but suddenly realizes he never appreciated his home country—England—enough while he was there. Thus, he returns to England after the Second World War and proceeds to discover England by car. So far it is so charmingly written that I can’t help but love Mr. Morton without knowing anything about him. And England itself comes off rather attractively, too, which is not a huge surprise!

Aside from those two, there are the usual things I read for my dissertation and school work, which at the moment is a lot of British newspapers from the 1840s. Lots of cramped, tiny type, let me tell you!

So what are you up to, reading-wise? Chime in below with a quote, a thought, or just a title.


–Corey

Entry filed under: Musings and Essays. Tags: , , .

Literary Locales: Brighton A read books list?

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. britney  |  June 20, 2011 at 12:24 am

    Three things:

    Eona by Alison Goodman – I’ve been reading this the longest and I tore through the first 300 pages in 24 hours, but I’ve been stalled halfway for over a week. There’s a love triangle I’m really not into and I kind of don’t care if Eona saves the kingdom.

    Kara Goucher’s Running for Women – I’m starting to fall in love with Kara Goucher, even if I will never run a marathon time anywhere near hers.

    Crazy Sexy Diet – yet another book that advocates eating mostly plants. :)

    Reply
    • 2. Corey  |  June 20, 2011 at 9:53 pm

      …and I kind of don’t care if Eona saves the kingdom. This would seem to be a rather large sticking point! :D And it always stinks when you get into something and then the magic just disappears after a certain point because of unlikeable characters or plodding. I hope it takes a turn for the better!

      Reply
  • 3. Em  |  June 20, 2011 at 1:12 am

    I’ve nearly finished Norwegian Wood by Murakami and I have Happenstances by Carol SHields planned for my trip to Germany (Locale explanation: I’m going to a conference on Canadian Studies, thus Shields is relevant!). And of course some articles and books related to thesis work.

    Now, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo is a book that really does not tempt me. I’ve never been really attracted to it, but was even less after hearing a paper on it. Plus a couple of Swedish people were present and were disgusted that Larsson receives so much attention when there are other Swedish authors who are better. I think that the whole hype and this experience just put me off.

    Reply
    • 4. Corey  |  June 20, 2011 at 9:56 pm

      Have fun in Germany! Not knowing much about the discipline, I love that they’re having a Canadian Studies conference; it sounds so interesting. Will it be mostly literature or more of a Canadian grab-bag?

      And (update) I am NOT loving the Larsson. At the moment, my main qualm is that I hate when authors think that being hyper-violent means something is more real. There is plenty of realism to be found in emotion and description without having to resort to the shock factor of violent crime. And I would not be surprised if your Swedish friends are entirely correct; nothing about this book is screaming innovative or superlative at the moment. Blergh.

      Reply
      • 5. Em  |  June 28, 2011 at 6:22 pm

        The conference was mostly about literature, to my delight. However, other conferences can be a lot more varied and include panels on geography, politics, law, etc…

        Reply
  • 6. Dad  |  June 20, 2011 at 2:39 am

    I’m reading the Path Between the Seas by David McCullough in Norfolk, Triangle: the Fire That Changed America by Dave von Drehle in NYC and something else in Williamsville (that I haven’t seen in weeks!?).

    Reply
    • 7. Corey  |  June 20, 2011 at 9:57 pm

      Maybe something to do with Lincoln? I feel like you always have a Lincoln book running around unfinished in at least one location. :)

      Reply
  • 8. Kate  |  June 21, 2011 at 1:52 pm

    Right now I have too many things going! The main one is The House of Mirth by Edith Wharton, which is taking forever but is awesome anyway — you might even get a blog post about it! :P

    Next up is a book called Wolfer by Carter Neimeyer, about a wolf tracker for Idaho Fish and Game who turned into a wolf advocate. That one is for work, actually, but Carter is sort of famous around here and widely renowned as “THE wolf guy.”

    I also have The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo on my to read shelf! I wonder why I haven’t turned to it yet…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 134 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


