Thanks from a Critic

May 19, 2011 at 12:00 am Leave a comment


Whenever I write a negative review here at Literary Transgressions, I feel a familiar but always-unpleasant sinking in my stomach. Who are you? the sinking feeling asks. What have you done that allows you to so harshly judge someone else’s hard work?

No matter how many times I tell myself it’s not personal and that the author will most likely never read what I have to say about their book, I still don’t feel any better about it. So today I wanted to take a post to thank authors for their labours of love.

Writing a novel (or any kind of book for that matter) isn’t easy and anyone who manages to finish their book let alone go through the slog of getting something published deserves praise for those accomplishments apart from whether or not the book was any good. I cannot express how impressed I am with the dedication and passion required of writers who finish their books. It is a remarkable achievement and one which I hope that no critic or blogger’s casual words can take away from authors.

While there are undoubtedly books that I personally think should never have been published or ones with which I simply don’t agree, that doesn’t mean I write my reviews lightly or that I don’t genuinely appreciate the hard work of even those authors whose work I abhor.

As far as I can tell, writing trash is just as hard as writing genius, so here’s a moment of applause for all authors, be they trashy, fluffy, brilliant, meh, or something in between. Thank you for all the work you put in that allows me to partake of my favorite past-time of all time: reading.

–Corey

Entry filed under: Musings and Essays. Tags: , , , , .

Mistress of Nothing by Kate Pullinger Classics Challenge: Love in the Time of Cholera

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 135 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


