Moving and rooms without books

May 11, 2011 at 12:10 am 1 comment

I do not have any books on my shelves. Yes, I am moving yet again, and so all of my books with the exception of a select few have found their collective way into neatly labelled boxes. They’ll be liberated this weekend and displayed proudly somewhere in my lovely new studio, but for the moment, they’re completely inaccessible.

This is somewhat panic-inducing for a book nut. What if I suddenly need to break into A Tale of Two Cities? What if I need to refer to Franny and Zooey for inspiration (everyone needs to be reminded from time to time to do it for the fat lady)? I can’t — I have to rely on my library books for now. Small comfort, as they comprise Macbooks for Dummies and Jillian Michaels’ Master Your Metabolism.

Cicero said that “A room without books is like a body without a soul.” He’s right. My apartment felt empty when my roommate left, but it feels almost emptier now that my shelves are barren. Packing books is the worst thing about moving, as well — I always feel like I have too many and not enough at the same time, and they never fit evenly into the box, no matter what configuration you try to use.

What about you? Do you have moving and packing books as much as I do? I know Corey does

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Discussion Questions: Le Père Goriot Discussion Post: Le Père Goriot

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Rex  |  May 11, 2011 at 9:55 am

    I dread the thought of ever moving again. Last time was in 2001, just before 9-11. I’m a pack rat, have been since forever, and I was almost embarrassed with how much stuff I have. Of course, I’ve been a homeowner since ’87 and one always accumulates a host of tools and appliances you just never want to get rid of because they’d either be too expensive to replace or because the items themselves are irreplaceable. That goes for books too. I’ve recently just finished reconfiguring two basement rooms in order to accommodate my books and other collectibles. My most recent endeavor was turning a storage room in my library. And so for the first time since who knows when, virtually all my books have a place. Now if I could just learn to watch less TV and read more of my books!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 135 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


