Weekly Geeks: A Favorite Authors ABC

April 25, 2011 at 12:00 am 8 comments

Weekly Geeks this week asks us to make a list of our favorite authors, one for each letter of the alphabet (or some variation thereon). Still quite difficult! Because it could just get excessive I limited myself to two authors at most for each letter. :)

A: Jane Austen and Louisa May Alcott
B: Nicholas Basbanes and Julian Barnes
C: Susanna Clarke and Wilkie Collins
D: Alexandre Dumas and Arthur Conan Doyle
E: Amelia Edwards and Umberto Eco
F: Anne Fadiman and John Fowles
G: Neil Gaiman
H: Edith Hamilton
I:
J: Henry James (although largely for lack of other “J” authors)
K: Elizabeth Kostova
L: Harper Lee
M: L.M. Montgomery and Alberto Manguel
N: Mary Beth Norton
O: Emmuska Orczy
P: Elizabeth Peters
Q:
R: J.K. Rowling and Edward Rutherfurd
S: Billy Shakes! and Aaron Sorkin (screenplays count, yes?)
T: Anthony Trollope
U: Daphne Uviller
V: Jules Verne
W: Simon Winchester and P.G. Wodehouse
X:
Y:
Z:

This really makes me realize how many of my favorite authors I haven’t even written about here. Better get cracking! And what about you, dear readers? Agree? Disagree? Scoff? Sound off below!

–Corey

Entry filed under: Musings and Essays, Weekly Geeks. Tags: , .

Happy Birthday, Shakespeare! Discussion Post: My Name is Red

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Madame Vauquer  |  April 25, 2011 at 6:02 am

    Have you read anything by Emile Zola? He would definitely be my “Z”.

    Reply
    • 2. Corey  |  April 25, 2011 at 8:39 am

      I haven’t, actually! What do you recommend I start with?

      Reply
      • 3. Madame Vauquer  |  April 25, 2011 at 12:16 pm

        My personal favorite is L’Assommoir but looking over your list, I think I’d recommend Au Bonheur des dames. There is a newish translation titled The Ladies’ Paradise. There is a good post on it here

        It is one of Zola’s twenty Rougon-Macquart novels which detail life in France during a twenty year period near the end of the nineteenth century. Most of them are gritty and portray a hard life. The Ladies’ Paradise is one of the lighter ones. The three biggies are probably L’Assommoir, Germinal and Nana. If you are up for pathos and despair, then go for L’Assommoir or Germinal.

        I also love Wilkie Collins, Anthony Trollope and Elizabeth Peters Amelia Peabody series.

        Reply
        • 4. Corey  |  April 26, 2011 at 12:38 am

          Sounds great! I checked out that post you linked to and the book sounds like I would really enjoy it. When our libraries reopen post-Easter I’ll go check it out!

          And YAY another Amelia Peabody fan! :D

  • 5. Lisa Hill  |  April 25, 2011 at 5:04 pm

    I’ve done my list (http://anzlitlovers.wordpress.com/2011/04/25/weekly-geeks-a-favorite-authors-abc/) but lucked out on Q. However, I shall be ready next time this meme comes around – see http://www.manybooks.net/authors.php?alpha=q
    Lisa *grin*

    Reply
    • 6. Corey  |  April 26, 2011 at 12:39 am

      Ha, ha, nice! The list could get quite lengthy with that resource by your side!

      Reply
  • 7. Erotic Horizon  |  April 25, 2011 at 5:22 pm

    I so agree – that if not carefull these list could get excessive..

    I see some of fav on your list…

    Have a great reading week..

    :)

    Reply
    • 8. Corey  |  April 26, 2011 at 12:40 am

      I think just making a list of favorite authors non-alphabetically might actually be more effective in terms of not my not getting crazy with it!

      You have a good week, too! :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 134 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


