National Bookshelf Sharing Day!

April 11, 2011 at 12:00 am 5 comments

I took to Weekly Geeks this week in hopes of creating a National Bookshelf Sharing Week. In belated honor of the apparently-real National Carpenter’s day, we’re all sharing our favorite piece of bookish carpentry: the bookshelf.

Here is my little expat shelf:

Believe it or not, I only brought six of them with me from the States and the rest are all evidence of me failing at an attempt to limit how many books I buy.

I can’t wait to see all your shelves and a very happy belated Carpenter’s Day!

–Corey

Hey, all! Kate here, popping in to give you a glimpse of my bookshelf (after the cut): 


I may or may not have chosen my apartment based on the built-in shelving.

My previous apartment didn’t have anything, so I bought that tiny wire rack you see near the bottom of this photo. Needless to say, my book collection almost immediately overran it. I was piling books on the floor, on my dresser, on any surface I could find.

When I saw the shelving in this room, I was already enamoured with the place. Discovering these shelves was like meeting a wicked hot, nice guy and then finding out he’s a firefighter. Now, of course, my books have overrun the thing again and migrated to every surface of my room (and all of my purses), but I still have a soft spot for that built-in shelf.

Kate

Entry filed under: Musings and Essays, Weekly Geeks. Tags: , , .

Discussion Questions: A Room of One’s Own Motif of the madman (and Revolutionary Road)

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Corey  |  April 11, 2011 at 12:17 am

    Oh man, built-in bookshelves are amazing! They’re as good a reason as any to take an apartment, too. :)

    Reply
  • 2. Marisa  |  April 11, 2011 at 5:39 pm

    I love built-in bookshelves, especially when tucked in little corners that would usually have no other use. There are hardly any places with built-in shelves where I live, but there was one once when I was a kid – my room had a large, wall-to-wall, built-in shelf. I loved it so much. When our family moved away, I found out that the next family broke it apart to make more space in the room. :(

    My WG:
    http://gentlemadhouse.blogspot.com/2011/04/weekly-geeks-in-honor-of-national.html

    Reply
    • 3. Corey  |  April 12, 2011 at 12:39 am

      That is such a sad bookshelf story! To counteract it, I’ll share that my dad actually created built-in shelves when we moved into our house, so hopefully the destruction in your house can be cosmically evened out that way.

      I couldn’t comment on your blog for some reason, but I just wanted to tell you that my jaw literally dropped at your shelves! They’re amazing; it actually looks like a bookstore (in the best possible way)!

      And I have Billy bookshelves back home and I adore them, too. Billy’s the best!

      Reply
  • 4. neroticmom  |  April 13, 2011 at 10:52 am

    Kate, that of course doesn’t include all the books you still have here in two bookcases, and Marisa OMG what awesome bookshelves. Kate probably hasn’t commented because she is still in shock from the picture :)

    Reply
  • 5. jehara  |  April 17, 2011 at 10:28 pm

    Built-in shelves are awesome! I used to have built in shelves in my closet growing up and I could fit so many books on them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 132 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


