Weekly Geeks: Ten Things about Books and Me

March 21, 2011 at 1:39 am 18 comments

Weekly Geeks this week asked us to list ten things about yourself in relation to books. They then exhorted us to let our imaginations run wild. Lists, imagination, and books? Count me in!

1. It literally pains me to turn down the corner of pages. Therefore, I’m never without a bookmark, book dart, or odd piece of paper to use to mark my place.

2. My favorite kind of book is a second-hand one with an inscription in the front. They’re like little windows into someone else’s life (and mysteries unto themselves since you then wonder how they ended up in the secondhand store).

3. My book weight is possibly the best thing I bought in all of my three years at college.

4. Writing out an exhaustive list of my books on a legal pad invariably calms me down when I’m stressed or angry.

5. Books about books are my favorite genre, if done well. 19th-century British literature is my favorite no matter what, since it’s more consistent in terms of quality.

6. I tend to read one pleasure/fiction book and one academic book at a time. And one Classics Challenge book if that’s running concurrently!

7. Suddenly I’ve entered a life stage where everything I’m reading causes my mother to say, “Oh, I read that when I was your age!”

8. The best spent days are the ones spent curled up in a comfortable chair reading (and finishing!) one book with occasional breaks for good food and tea.

9. In organizing books, categorization (by genre, preferably) is most important followed closely by alphabetization. (I didn’t come from a family of librarians for nothing!)

10. I really miss my bookends! Somehow a tin of tea with a can of condensed milk on the top just isn’t the same or nearly as effective.

What about you, dear readers? Share some of your personal bookish traits below!

–Corey

Entry filed under: Collections and Lists, Weekly Geeks. Tags: , , , , , .

Discussion Post: Chéri Author Guessing Game

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mouseprints  |  March 21, 2011 at 1:08 pm

    I love making book lists, too! There is something calming about making them.

    I love secondhand books, too. I like that books have “lived” other lives, so to speak, before they came into my hands.

    Reply
    • 2. Corey  |  March 21, 2011 at 1:45 pm

      Indeed, book lists are so great! Lists are just inherently calming and then adding books into the mix is perfect for any turbulent moment.

      And I completely agree about books having their own life as separate from ownership. They go on their own little journeys and, sometimes, I get to be a part of them. : )

      Reply
  • 3. Liz K  |  March 21, 2011 at 3:24 pm

    I found a bookend the other day. I don’t use them because my bookshelf is packed! Oh well. And I attempted to organize my shelf by genre, it is pretty close, but it is not perfect.

    Reply
    • 4. Corey  |  March 21, 2011 at 4:49 pm

      That is a great reason to not need bookends! I’ve been trying to hold back on buying books whilst abroad otherwise I think I’d be in a similar situation. : )

      And, just out of curiosity, what genres do you use on your shelves?

      Reply
  • 5. Suey  |  March 21, 2011 at 8:46 pm

    I too love books about books! I have a stack of them.. and just love to look at them.. and flip through them and ponder all the books I hope to read some day. Thanks for joining Weekly Geeks this week.

    Reply
    • 6. Corey  |  March 22, 2011 at 2:42 am

      Books about books are amazing! Do you have a favorite? I have to go with Anne Fadiman’s Ex Libris. I grovel at the feet of her erudition. : )

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply
  • 7. Emilee's Readings  |  March 22, 2011 at 9:47 am

    I organize my books by genre and then by author. I own almost 1000 books. I like to have my favorite books piled up in my bedroom, even if I don’t read them for months or years at a time–it just makes me feel good to have them close by.

    Reply
    • 8. Corey  |  March 22, 2011 at 1:42 pm

      There is something so comforting about books close at hand!

      Reply
  • 9. Ashley S.  |  March 22, 2011 at 7:04 pm

    I love 19th century British classics too. Dickens, Austen, Bronte, Gaskell, Scott…definitely some of literature’s greatest moments.

    Reply
    • 10. Corey  |  March 23, 2011 at 12:56 am

      Here, here! Do you have a favorite?

      Reply
      • 11. Ashley S.  |  March 23, 2011 at 6:34 pm

        Wow, that would be really hard to choose. Jane Eyre is my favorite book of all time, and the other Brontes are splendid as well. I’m also partial to Dickens’ Bleak House and Austen’s Persuasion.

        Reply
      • 12. Corey  |  March 24, 2011 at 2:29 am

        Yeah, it’s a hard questions, sorry! I’m intrigued that you mentioned Bleak House; not many people would say that’s their favorite Dickens! But I’m 100% with you on the Persuasion front. It’s undoubtedly my favorite Austen and probably my second favorite book of all time (Anne Fadiman’s Ex Libris takes the cake for the number one slot, sorry 19th century!).

        Reply
  • 13. Molly (Restless Reader)  |  March 22, 2011 at 7:33 pm

    I love books about books, too. They just give me a thrill like no other.

    Reply
    • 14. Corey  |  March 23, 2011 at 12:57 am

      Books about books are so much more likely to say exactly how I feel than any other type of book. I guess other bibliophiles naturally understand better!

      Reply
  • 15. Erotic Horizon  |  March 28, 2011 at 2:13 pm

    I love this psot…

    I also love my bookends – My shelves are also stuffed so I end up using them for other things..

    Dont even start me on the Mum things – scary sometimes I tell you..

    E.H>

    Reply
    • 16. Corey  |  March 29, 2011 at 1:37 am

      Glad you liked it! :D

      What sort of bookends do you have? They sound quite multipurpose! Mine are the dull metal ones that libraries use, so I can’t really use them for anything else, alas. (Maybe a doorstop…?)

      Reply
      • 17. Erotic Horizon  |  March 29, 2011 at 2:33 am

        I have quite a few bookends floating around – I am a paper crafter as well so when the bookshelves gets over stuff I recycle the bookends and have them propping up paper or some other craft related item…

        I have a few really heavy ones that I am parcal to – I found those in charity shops and Sunday car boot sale.. I have one holding my living room door open – It lends a certain charm to the room -and I am always asked about it… (it has the “Thinking Man” as the ground weight)..

        I used to use the one with the sand – you know those stuff toys kind filled with sand – I find those really fun and so versitile as my nephew is going through is phase of having books all over the house – so he drags those around and make his own little book pile…..

        I can’t imagine never having bookends – they are an essential if you are a reader…

        E.H:

        Reply
  • […] I think I’ve mentioned before, books with inscriptions in them are just about my favorite thing in all of used book Christendom. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 135 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


