A belated 2010 wrap-up

January 12, 2011 at 12:00 am 3 comments


Remember when I was going to be all on top of it and have a bookish year in review before New Year’s? Clearly I didn’t get that out, but here’s my belated look back on my year in reading. I’d love to hear all of your favorites (and least favorites) from this year, too, so hit the comment section to chime in!

Favorite Book Read in 2010: The Magus by John Fowles by a long shot!

Least Favorite Book Read in 2010: Probably Déjà Dead by Kathy Reichs, although I did also read Twilight in 2010

Most Disappointing Book Read in 2010: The Logogryph by Thomas Wharton

Most Surprising Book Read in 2010: The Magicians by Lev Grossman (surprisingly good!)

Books Unfinished in 2010: The Museum of Innocence by Orhan Pamuk, Built of Books: How Reading Defined the Life of Oscar Wilde by Thomas Wright, English University Life in the Middle Ages by Alan Cobban (by 5 measly PAGES!), and Don Quixote, a perennial entry on this list

So here’s to reading in 2011 and me finishing my MA so I get back to reading whatever I want all the time!

–Corey

Entry filed under: Collections and Lists. Tags: , .

Weekly Geeks: A Reader’s Self Portrait Weekly Geeks: Awards and Lists

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Em  |  January 12, 2011 at 9:33 am

    Good luck with finishing your MA. Anyother plans than reading after? I went straight from the MA to the PhD, without a break, and it was tough tough tough!

    Reply
    • 2. Corey  |  January 13, 2011 at 2:58 am

      Thanks for the good wishes! In terms of after the MA, I’m hoping to find a job back in the states. No PhD for me! What did you study for yours? It does sound super-exhausting to go straight from one to the other!

      Reply
  • 3. Em  |  January 17, 2011 at 6:30 pm

    It is super exhausting, but I’m loving it! I am in the middle of year 2 now.
    I am working on Atwood’s short fiction.
    Actually, I will be presenting a paper on myth subversion is her collection The Tent. You know that it’s more or less how I found this blog; I was browsing and the posts on Fairy Tales caught my eye!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 133 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


