The Times’ “100 Notable Books of 2010”

November 29, 2010 at 12:00 am 4 comments

So the New York Times just released its list of books that makes me feel like one big ole slacker of a reader, its annual “Notable Books” list. (Apparently, directly after Thanksgiving is the moment when it is suddenly acceptable to start publishing “best of the year” lists and reminiscing about 2010. Still a month to go, people! Ahem…)

Of the 100, I have heard of eleven, read none, and wished I’d read nine (mostly different from the ones I’d heard of before, funnily enough). Since this was demoralizing and made me seriously doubt the very validity of a list that is purportedly “notable” if I, an avid reader, had experienced none of the books dubbed as such, I’m turning to you, dear readers. What are your notable books of 2010? Do your choices align with any of the Times’? And, not to get too grad school, but what does “notable” exactly entail? I’m not sure if it means anything like “best/high quality” or if it just means “most talked about.”

Personally, I think the fact that I spend a lot of my time reading things more likely to be found on the “100 Notable Books of 1870” list than this year’s model was why nothing I read was “notable” this year!

–Corey

Entry filed under: Musings and Essays, News. Tags: , .

Literary Thanksgivings? All the Best Rubbish by Noel Ivor Hume

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Natalie  |  November 29, 2010 at 7:29 pm

    “100 Notable Books of 1870″ – ha!

    Of all those books, I’ve only heard of a few. I have read one, The Three Wiessmans of Westport, which I enjoyed as a Jane Austen nerd, but which I hardly think worthy of note. That this book made the list makes me think “notable” is probably “most talked about.”

    Reply
    • 2. Corey  |  November 30, 2010 at 2:54 am

      Hmm, I hadn’t heard of that one. Is it Austenesque?

      Reply
  • 3. Britney  |  November 29, 2010 at 7:55 pm

    I’ve read Room, which I might not have picked up if I hadn’t been sent a copy, but it was a page-turner and a great book to read on a plane! I fear it might date itself, though, because there was an over reliance (in my opinion, at least) on characters like Dora the Explorer. Or perhaps Dora will become as timeless as Sesame Street?

    I noticed that a book my sister was reading over the summer is also on the list(LAST CALL: The Rise and Fall of Prohibition) but I don’t think she managed to finish it before she returned to school. There are others on the list I might eventually read due to their popularity (like the Steig Larsson book) and a number of the writers I’ve heard of, even if I haven’t read any of their books (or known about their new releases).

    Reply
    • 4. Corey  |  November 30, 2010 at 2:56 am

      I think at some point I just need to hunker down and read the Larsson, too!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 133 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


