Literary Thanksgivings?

November 26, 2010 at 12:00 am 2 comments

I’m assuming most of our readers are off with their families today enjoying Thanksgiving, so I’ll keep this brief!

It seems to me that with other major holidays (Christmas being the biggest with Halloween and New Year’s perhaps distant seconds), there is much thinking done about the holiday in literature. Christmas has its Dickens, Halloween has its Irving, and New Year’s for some reason always makes me think of Little Women (okay, I think of them at Christmas, too…that book is just highly memorable for me!).

But what about Thanksgiving? I thought and thought and couldn’t come up with one memorable literary Thanksgiving. Can you? And if not, please do share what you’re literarily thankful for this year! I’m still in awe of The Magus so I think I’ll be thankful for that this year. And beloved books that fit in tightly packed suitcases to comfort me while I’m away from home (yep, Little Women again).

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!

–Corey

Entry filed under: Musings and Essays. Tags: , .

Used Book Stores The Times’ “100 Notable Books of 2010”

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kate  |  November 27, 2010 at 8:59 am

    Most of the lit I love is English, so no Thanksgiving there! I feel like Thanksgiving is newer than we think it is…it wasn’t really celebrated annually in the same general week until the mid-19th century, I think!

    Anyway, I am thankful for John Steinbeck this year :) And for awesome libraries!

    Reply
    • 2. Corey  |  November 28, 2010 at 5:33 pm

      A goodly theory! I’ll definitely go with it. I also for some reason feel like reading more James Fenimore Cooper or Washington Irving would result in more Thanksgivingy literature. Not sure why, but they seem like the go-to guys for this sort of thing.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 135 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


