Weekly Geeks: Where Did That Extra Hour Go?

November 15, 2010 at 12:00 am 4 comments

How do you find that ‘extra hour’ to read on a normal day? Do you read for a few minutes here and there? Do you put aside certain nights or times of the day to read? How do you minimize family interruptions?

Back in the pre-graduate school real world, I have to say that my commute was a life-saver in providing that ‘extra hour.’ On average, I had at least an hour a day spent on public transit where I could just whip out a book and disappear into it. Add to that, I had an undisturbed lunch hour most days with just me, some PB&J, and my book. It was a great and I did get to read a lot of books that way. However, to be honest, since I started graduate school, I’ve lost my ‘extra hour’ and have been having trouble reading things I want.

I tried to start doing the “read a chapter or two before bed” thing that my mother embraces, but I get too sucked in and always end up staying up way too late reading. I tried reading on my commute to school as of old, but the commute is just not as long anymore (surprisingly a bad thing!) and I’m already carrying a lot of heavy schoolwork so I have less room for a pleasure-reading book. Also, I’ve noticed that any spare time I have is more likely to go towards videos or something computery and mindless over a book simply because I spend all my other time reading for school. It kind of zaps the desire to read for fun!

That all said, I’m hoping our lovely readers have some advice for me. Where do you find the mythic ‘extra hour’ and have you ever found it while at school?

–Corey

Entry filed under: Weekly Geeks.

Teaser Friday! Weekly Geeks: The Extra Hour

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Eva  |  November 15, 2010 at 2:59 am

    Rather than read before bed, I go to sleep an hour earlier, then get up an hour earlier in the morning for reading time. :) That way, no matter how sucked in I get, I HAVE to start my day, so I’m not compromising my sleep!

    However, it took me years to realise that early mornings are as lovely as late nights, so I understand if you think I’m crazy. ;)

    Reply
    • 2. Corey  |  November 16, 2010 at 1:50 am

      Well that’s a terrific suggestion. I’m totally a morning person, so it could very well work! Thank you!

      Reply
  • 3. Iris  |  November 15, 2010 at 5:00 am

    I wish I could help you here. Sometimes I have no time for reading, because after all the coursework reading I can’t spend my leisure time on reading some more. And I am very much like you, when I read before sleep, I get too sucked in and compromise my sleep. Maybe we should all follow Eva’s example?

    Reply
    • 4. Corey  |  November 16, 2010 at 1:51 am

      I hear you on the impossibility reading even more post-coursework thing. Eva’s is the first suggestion I’ve heard that might actually work for a student, so perhaps we should follow suit!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 133 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


