Fantasy Friday: Harrius Potter et Philosophi Lapis

November 5, 2010 at 5:20 am 4 comments


This post is in large part a post of sheer giggly dorkery, but I finally got my hands on a copy of Harrius Potter et Philosophi Lapis, aka: the Latin translation of the first Harry Potter book. And can I just note how amazing it is?

First of all, I’m in awe that someone (namely Peter Needham) loves both Harry Potter and the Latin language enough to translate the entire book. Secondly, the translation is great! I’m a very basic Latin reader who hasn’t studied the language in years, but I’m still able to follow more of it than I expected. The level of the Latin is actually the same as the level of the original English: it’s simple and humorous. And thirdly: “Hamaxostichus Rapidus Hogvartensis” for the “Hogwarts Express.” Amazing.

I guess the practical use of books like this one are debatable, but I still love them. (There’s also an ancient Greek translation of ole Harry which presumably a similarly collectible piece of dorkdom.) I’m sorry this post doesn’t have more substance, but I just wanted to share. I highly recommend finding a copy to geek over; flipping through Harrius basically made my otherwise cloudy day much brighter.

–Corey

Entry filed under: Fantasy, Musings and Essays. Tags: , , .

The Tower, the Zoo and the Tortoise by Julia Stuart The Ingenious Mr. Henry Care by Lois G. Schwoerer

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Natalie  |  November 5, 2010 at 8:22 pm

    That is amazing! I didn’t know there was such a thing as Harry Potter in Latin.

    Reply
    • 2. Corey  |  November 8, 2010 at 3:07 am

      The first chapter is called “Puer qui vixit” and it just gets even more amazing as you go forth into it. :)

      Reply
  • 3. Kate  |  November 14, 2010 at 2:12 pm

    Aw, so glad you liked it! The Latin seemed to be fairly simple — even for someone like me who has not seen a Latin class in about three years :)

    Reply
    • 4. Corey  |  November 16, 2010 at 1:49 am

      I adore it! And I’m equally rusty, methinks, so I was so pleased to be able to decipher some of it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 120 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 120 other followers

