Rereading Lists

October 15, 2010 at 1:44 am 9 comments

Courtesy of the Times

As we have often discussed, commiserated about, and listed, every reader has his or her reading list. It’s most likely longer than is feasible in a human lifetime, constantly being edited to change as you do, and, despite the editing, forever expanding. I love a good reading list, so today I wanted to ask you what’s on your rereading list.

I spend a lot of my time (too much perhaps!) bemoaning the precedence my reading list takes over my rereading list. In a world where I only get 80 or so years to read everything on my reading list (baring the possible existence of some afterlife where I get to spend all my ghostly time in a well-stocked library), I sprint ahead with it, much to the detriment of ever rereading anything.

I’ve been writing for LT’s Rereadings series for most of this year in an attempt to rectify the situation, but there are still books I want to reread. Off the top of my head, The Odyssey, Catherine Called Birdy, and possibly The Great Gatsby spring to mind. And, if I were ever brave enough, tackling those books we were forced to read throughout secondary school could only be a worthy exercise. Maybe I secretly do like Lord of the Flies or The Giver and they were just victims of circumstance for me. Time will tell!

In the meantime, do let me know what your rereading list looks like and how you form it. Are they old favorites you want to reread or books you think deserve a second shot at your affections?

–Corey

Entry filed under: Musings and Essays, Rereadings. Tags: .

Literary Locales: Église Saint-Sulpice Literary Locales: The Literary Tourist Trap

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Em  |  October 15, 2010 at 4:45 am

    The reading list being so long, I avoid rereading books. However, I sometimes have to do it for my studies and for teaching. Soon, I’ll be rereading Joyce’s Dubliners for the stated reason. I also want to reread Atwood’s The blind Assassin, as well as Oryx and Crake and The Year of the Flood (although I wait until the third book gets published to do so). I would also love to reread Kafka’s The Metamorphosis; I read it long ago and I think I would appreciate it differently now. But the book I’ve read and reread the most is St Exupery’s The Little Prince (it helps that it is short). I hope that the next time I read it it will be to my best friend’s son, as my grandmother used to read it to me when I was a kid…

    Reply
    • 2. Corey  |  October 15, 2010 at 9:43 am

      The Blind Assassin is a great idea for a reread! I’m going to add it to my list, too. Thanks for reminding me of it!

      And I haven’t read The Little Prince since high school, actually, so maybe the time is nigh to give it another go.

      Reply
  • 3. Emilee (World of Words)  |  October 15, 2010 at 3:27 pm

    There are a few books I actually reread every year: A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle is a comfort read from my childhood, so I pick it up again and again. I also read Holy the Firm by Annie Dillard every year in the fall. The best way I’ve found to reread classics I might not otherwise pick up again is to read them aloud to my daughter while she plays.

    Reply
    • 4. Britney  |  October 18, 2010 at 5:45 am

      I love Madeleine L’Engle, but I find myself rereading the Vicky Austin books more often than I do those about Meg Murry. I love A Ring of Endless Light and Troubling a Star.

      Reply
  • 5. SilverSeason  |  October 15, 2010 at 5:18 pm

    I am currently taking a course on Lewis Carroll and so I (along with the rest of the class) am rereading Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass. The older you get, the better they are — the Alice books, that is.

    Reply
    • 6. Corey  |  October 16, 2010 at 3:34 am

      Hmm…I may have to give Alice another try after reading this! I read Alice sometime in middle school but didn’t much care for it. Time for a new attempt methinks!

      Reply
  • 7. Natalie  |  October 15, 2010 at 7:18 pm

    Yay for Catherine Called Birdy! I love that book.

    I don’t have a rereading list. When I get an urge to reread something, I just do it. I sometimes feel guilty about not reading new books all the time, but the rereadings are so gratifying that it’s worth it.

    Reply
    • 8. Corey  |  October 16, 2010 at 3:35 am

      Ha, I was hoping someone else would Catherine geek out with me! :D And, yes, I so agree on the rereading front. They are never a waste of reading time (so worth it!), but I always assume they will be. Alas!

      Reply
  • 9. Britney  |  October 17, 2010 at 7:14 am

    My rereading is often composed of old favorites because I just want to curl up with something that I know will be good. Sometimes it reminds me of being younger or where I was when I first read a particular book (The Blue Sword makes me think of driving from Illinois back to Pennsylvania after Christmas my senior year of high school; I read Crown Duel on the couch in my grandparents’ living room in one day during the summer of that same year). Sometimes I reread a series in anticipation of a new addition.

    There are a few books I want to reread to see if they get better on a second read, but most of these are books that I was supposed to read in school and never actually finished (like Pride and Prejudice). I’ve actually started P&P a few times since, and I still haven’t read more than half of it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 134 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


