Another Monday, another list of books

October 4, 2010 at 12:21 am 3 comments

Hey, all! Not thrilled with the Weekly Geeks prompt, so you get yet another list of what I am reading/what I picked up at a rummage sale this week. Here ya go —

Kitchen Confidential by Anthony Bourdain: I have been meaning to read this for a while but hadn’t gotten around to it. The conversational style and wacky stories make this one pretty easy to read, but it’s dragging in the second half.

Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott: I remember reading and loving this book in high school, but can no longer remember what it’s about! I’ll find out this week, though, I’m sure.

The Neverending Story by Michael Ende: Who knew this was a book? I loved this movie when I was a kid, didn’t you?

What Einstein Told His Cook by Robert L. Wolke: This is apparently about cooking and chemistry (even though Einstein wasn’t a chemist, but whatever. Maybe hidden in there somewhere is a technique to fix all of my recipes to adjust for high elevation.

What are you all reading this week? Read any of the above? Let me know below!

Kate

Entry filed under: Collections and Lists.

Fairy Tale Friday: Nix Nought Nothing On a break

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Britney  |  October 4, 2010 at 3:51 am

    I knew The Neverending Story was a book! I’ve actually never seen the entire movie. I loved the first half of the book, but after The Childlike Empress got her new name I was caught up in how lame the new name was which really distracted from the story.

    I also enjoyed Kitchen Confidential. I keep meaning to read some of Bourdain’s other books.

    Reply
    • 2. Kate  |  October 4, 2010 at 7:12 am

      Bourdain strikes me as an excellent non-fiction writer, but it would be interesting to see if that translates into good fiction. Aren’t his other books novels?

      Reply
      • 3. Britney  |  October 5, 2010 at 3:29 pm

        A quick look on Wikipedia shows that Bourdain has written three novels and the rest are nonfiction. I’m more interested in reading his nonfiction than his fiction, to be honest. :)

        Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 134 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


