Giving up

September 9, 2010 at 8:09 am 4 comments

This was going to be a singularly insightful post on Kraken, China Mieville’s new novel. There was a lot of hype surrounding this book, and normally I’m a fan of Mieville’s work. Perdido Street Station and The Scar were the best steampunk I’ve ever read, and Kraken promised to be just as exciting. I even paid the quarter our library charges to “rent” out new books, that’s how excited I was.

After three days of pushing through the first half of the novel, I put it down to realize I had no idea what was going on. Literally no clue. There was something about a missing squid, I gathered, and about a Tattoo that had a life and mind of its own. But apart from that, I wasn’t sure. What was this bit about a talking statue? And what in God’s (or Kraken’s, I suppose) name was a Teuthex?

I put down the book, took out the bookmark, and placed it in my “to be returned” pile, where it is currently causing me a lot of guilt every time I look in its direction. Ha ha, the cover seems to say. China Mieville is too smart for you. You can’t even follow his narrative.

The cover, however, is probably being unfair. I admit that I have not been in the best place for reading lately; something about staring at and trying to produce words on a page for at least eight hours a day, five days a week, has a way of burning one out. I haven’t been able to read anything particularly taxing lately, or even anything at all — in desperation the other day, I borrowed a few romance novels from a friend in an attempt to get myself to read something, anything.

Some of the blame must fall on Mieville. One of the things I love about him is that he doesn’t explain every single aspect of his universes throughout the course of any given novel. He presents you with things like living tattoos that exist in his world, but leaves the reader to figure it out on his or her own rather than attempting to explain how these inexplicable things came to be. In a previous post, I compared likened his writing to a travel guide written by a native, rather than an outsider.

However, there is something to be said for making sure one is not simply bombarding the reader with new and strange things for the sake of it. Okay, Mieville, so there are people in this universe who have closed-circuit television cameras and radios embedded in their bodies; right, good, fine. Why? What is the purpose? And why have you thrown this at me immediately after I have made peace with the fact that there are tattoos that can speak and squids that are actually gods?

So. I have given up on Kraken. If you’ve read it and can tell me why I should give it another shot, please do so! Because right now, I can’t even feel happy about how much better my current read, White Teeth by Zadie Smith, is — I’m feeling too guilty about throwing over the Kraken.

Kate

Entry filed under: Fantasy, Sci-fi. Tags: .

A Clip Show: the OED, a presidential reading list, and poly-readers Rereadings: The Mark of Zorro

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Redhead  |  September 9, 2010 at 9:27 am

    I’m usually a lover of Mieville too, but I’m feeling a little aphrehensive about Kraken. I think I really like his Bas Lag stuff, but his other stuff, I just like it OK. Have you tried City and the City? Took me a while to figure out what the heck was going on, but was worth the read.

    Reply
    • 2. Kate  |  September 10, 2010 at 8:21 am

      I haven’t tried The City and the City yet, but I may have to after this. Un Lun Dun was a great read, but I guess I haven’t read anything by China Mieville that wasn’t about Bas Lag besides that.

      Reply
  • 3. Aishwarya  |  September 22, 2010 at 12:36 pm

    Oh no, does that mean you didn’t get to the extended Star Trek joke section?

    I enjoyed Kraken because it was joyful and geeky and lunatic, but I also thought it was very self-indulgent and in-jokey. I can well imagine that being really alienating, so I’m not surprised you gave up.

    TBH, I’m still not sure what happened at the end of the book.

    Reply
    • 4. Kate  |  September 29, 2010 at 10:07 pm

      Oh, no! Had I known there was an extended Star Trek joke section, I would probably not have given up so quickly. It might be worth another try in the future, but Mieville is definitely one of those authors I have to work very hard in order to “get” and sometimes, I just can’t give his work the attention it deserves. Sigh.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 134 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


