Weekly Geeks: Who do you connect with?

August 30, 2010 at 12:10 am 4 comments

Whom do you read with, and if you don’t read with anyone –WHY NOT?

This feels almost more like a transgression than a Weekly Geeks post, as I have to admit that I don’t read with anyone. I think I’ve mentioned before that we were never really a reading-out-loud type of family, which is what I would imagine the ultimate “reading with someone” experience would be.

Normally, I get into a reading zone with a new book. I cannot focus on someone else when I have a book in my hands, to the extent that I will not hear them when they talk, notice when they leave the room, and other basic things like that. It would be nice for the first five minutes — until the person I’m reading with would want to point something out in their book, or would ask me an unrelated question, and I’d unintentionally blow them off. The idea of reading with someone seems cozy, but it probably wouldn’t end well.

The only thing I have ever been able to read with other people is drama — Shakespeare, to be precise. My experience with Shakespeare has been that he’s infinitely easier to read and understand when read out loud with a group of people, and so I worked my way through Hamlet, Much Ado About Nothing, Twelfth Night, Othello and a few more with Corey and a small group of other people in high school. Yes, I was a huge geek in high school, but at least I was reading with other people!

How about you? Do you read with other people, around other people, or neither? Tell us about it!

Kate

Entry filed under: Weekly Geeks.

Rereadings: The Hobbit The Magus by John Fowles

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Emilee  |  August 30, 2010 at 8:24 pm

    I’ll read around anyone. I’ve never really read with people until my daughter was born. I’ve read to her since she was a newborn, and now at 15 months, it’s gratifying to see that she loves books and wants to be read to. Besides age-appropriate books, I also read aloud to her while she plays. We’re currently working our way through the comple Chronicles of Narnia. I’m hoping that something will sink and that someday she’ll love them too.

    Reply
    • 2. Kate  |  September 1, 2010 at 8:45 am

      Aw, wonderful! Reading with kids is a lot of fun — actually, now that you mention it, I used to make a point to read with the kids I baby-sat for. What a great idea, reading out loud while she plays!

      Reply
  • 3. Corey  |  September 1, 2010 at 8:15 pm

    I always think reading with someone sounds to lovely and idyllic, but then the reality is much less nice since everyone reads at a different pace, reaches stopping points at different moments, and grows tired of reading and wants to go for a bit of a walk about at completely unrelated times. So I find it is a solitary activity, too, even if I do very much like the idea of reading with someone else!

    And I’ll just take a moment to get all nostalgic about the Shakespearean Guild and then move on…talk amongst yourselves…!

    Reply
  • 4. gautami tripathy  |  September 1, 2010 at 11:25 pm

    I miss reading with my dad. Now I mostly read alone.

    Here is my Weekly Geeks post!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 135 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


