Bedtime Stories

August 25, 2010 at 12:10 am 2 comments

The news

just came in

From the County of Keck

That a very small bug

By the name of Van Vleck

Is yawning so wide

You can look down his neck.

Warning: this is not technically a fairy tale, nor is it strictly fantasy. But I am writing this post sort of late at night (though most of you are reading it in the morning), and I found myself thinking about my favorite bedtime stories.

We were never huge on bedtime stories in my family, but there was one I loved and still read to kids when I babysit — The Sleep Book by Dr. Seuss. Did any of you love this book, too?

I can remember almost every detail about this book, including the sleepwalkers with candles on their heads, the creature with the long furry alarm clock tail, and the furry creatures getting ready for bed in what I think were waterfalls. All I have to do is read that first page about little Van Vleck yawning and I’m about ready to drift off myself.

So tell me, readers — did you read bedtime stories when you were little? What were some of your favorites? Do you still enjoy them today?

Kate

Entry filed under: Children and Young Adult, Fairy Tale Friday. Tags: .

Ibid: A Life by Mark Dunn Discussion Post: Lady Chatterley’s Lover

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. neuroticmom  |  August 25, 2010 at 2:18 pm

    I think we stopped reading you girls bedtime stories because 1) you became such good readers at a young age and 2) Your dad or I would fall asleep before you girls :P Sorry about that but I think all the reading I did during the day with you when you were little should make up for it!

    Reply
  • 2. Neeks  |  September 7, 2011 at 2:06 am

    When we were small children, my Mother read to us from “The Child’s Garden of Verses,” by Robert Louis Stevenson. I bought a copy and read it to my daughter when she was little.
    Thanks for bringing those lovely times to mind!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 133 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


