Library Loot: Brain Candy Edition

August 11, 2010 at 12:11 am 2 comments

After a week of being up to my neck in environmental law and county ordinances (ah, journalism!), I took an evening and visited my local library for a pick-me-up.

I needed something engaging, but not something I felt like I’d have to work to understand. Turns out even former literature students like myself just get sick and tired of reading “smart” books. After much wandering of the aisles and about an hour spent curled up in front of an insanely comfy chair by a sunny window, here’s what I ended up with:

Sharp Teeth by Toby Barlow. I’ve read this before, but figured it was time to read it again — perfect for my state of mind, as it’s a fairly fast read, but not at all fluffy.

Elements of Style by Wendy Wasserstein. No idea what this is about, except I was looking for something like Candace Bushnell but not as grating. As the title seems to be a nod to Strunk and White, I have high hopes for this one.

The Man of my Dreams by Curtis Sittenfeld. I loved Prep when I read it ages ago, and though I debated picking up American Wife, this one really seemed more up my alley for the moment.

So, tell me…what did you pick up at the library this week? Or, what are your favorite things to read when you are nearly brain-dead? Tell me all about it below!

Kate

Entry filed under: Collections and Lists.

Imagined London by Anna Quindlen Discussion Post: The Mayor of Casterbridge

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Iris  |  August 11, 2010 at 2:13 am

    I’m curious about the Curtis Sittenfeld book! I liked Prep, even if I thought the second half was slow.

    Reply
  • 2. Corey  |  August 13, 2010 at 5:21 pm

    You’ll have to tell me how “The Elements of Style” turns out. It looks pretty and hopefully involves much style guide dorkery!

    I actually went library-crazy this week, so I have all kinds of things out including but not limited to Ibid: A life by Mark Dunn, The 39 Steps, London: A Biography, and a pretty little tome of Tennyson. This is what happens when I work a few steps from the largest public library in New York. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 132 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


