Fantasy Friday: How do you like yours served?

August 6, 2010 at 12:12 am 4 comments

On the recommendation of Corey, I read The Magicians this week. We generally like the same books, and so it was no surprise to me that I also found it compelling, brilliant and both the antidote and the perfect companion to Harry Potter and The Chronicles of Narnia.

But while I was wondering why Harry had never managed to make a pan-Anarctic trek armed with nothing but a few spells, I found myself vaguely disturbed by the way Lev Grossman had plundered the entire fantasy genre and given it a half-turn. He made giant bunnies creepy again; he robbed Aslan of a little of his magic. And while he did it brilliantly and actually vaguely respectfully, I kind of missed the “fluffy” fantasy I know and love. If there are going to be talking animals, they should be cuddly, in my opinion.

That’s not to say I don’t love dark fantasy — take a look at my Neil Gaiman and China Mieville posts if you want proof, and I could not have gotten through the Sandman series if I couldn’t take a little bit of twist in my fantasy. But there are two distinct types of magical fiction, and this got me wondering: which one do you prefer, readers?

Do you like your talking animals to be cuddly, or don’t you care? Do you prefer the almost horror-like fantasy in Sandman, twisted fantasy a la Grossman, or more along the “everything ends happily” lines of Rowling and Lewis? Tell me all about it below!

-Kate

Entry filed under: Fairy Tale Friday, Fantasy. Tags: , , , , , , .

Discussion Questions: The Mayor of Casterbridge Weekly Geeks: Covers

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Corey  |  August 6, 2010 at 6:03 pm

    I’m so glad you liked The Magicians! And in answer to your question, I think it depends a lot on my mood. Most of the time, I’m an “everything ends happily after much adventure” type of fantasy reader, but then again I did deeply like Grossman’s version, too. (This being read a day after leaving GVSHP, so I was in a slightly darker or more morose mindset than usual!)

    As a general rule, I definitely like my fantasy to be whimsical which tends to include more of the cuddly variety of talking animals than not.

    Reply
    • 2. Kate  |  August 8, 2010 at 9:15 pm

      My fantasy preference often depends on mood as well — I would never read Sandman if already depressed, but a good reading of Neverwhere would lift me out of a funk, where The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe might not be able to. Odd!

      And I am with you on the whimsy, buddy. The more whimsy, the better, I say!

      Reply
      • 3. Corey  |  August 9, 2010 at 9:49 am

        Wow, Neverwhere is that good? I may need to hasten to the library and fetch it!

        Reply
  • […] yawn. While realism isn’t something I’ve ever craved in my fantasy novels (bring on the talking animals!), I realized that real emotions and realistic reactions to events are something I do want and are […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 131 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


