The Enchantress of Florence by Salman Rushdie

August 3, 2010 at 12:00 am 8 comments


I stumbled upon The Enchantress of Florence by Salman Rushdie as part of a recent raiding of my mother’s shelves. Despite having never read any of Rushdie’s work, I was vaguely aware that he was an Interesting Contemporary Person and decided to give The Enchantress a go. It seemed like the sort of thing one should read.

Wonderfully, despite the randomness of how I discovered the book and the compulsion I felt to read it, The Enchantress was anything but a chore. In fact, the book turned out to be one of the more interesting books I’ve read in quite some time. And I guess it is “interesting” in the same ways that Rushdie himself is: it’s neither conventional nor totally wacky; it’s somewhat foreign and mystical, but also deals with perfectly ordinary humanity; and there’s a lot that just remains completely mysterious.

The Enchantress leaps with utter grace and comfort from different times, places, and narrators to tell a number of different stories. The main one, however, has to do with a Western stranger who turns up at the court of Akbar the Great and proceeds to spin some tales, gain influence at court, and befriend the emperor himself. As it soon becomes clear, the stranger’s stories are actually far more relevant to the emperor and the royal family than the stranger initially let on.

Style aside (and this is an extremely stylish book), one of the things I found most fascinating about The Enchantress was Rushdie’s evident, thorough research and his choice of an unusual place and time. It is quite rare that you find a book taking place during the Renaissance (the European one, anyway) that is centered on the East geographically. The more I read, the more I realized that I did not have the first clue about what was going on outside of Europe during the Renaissance. And, despite this book being fiction, it admirably aimed to fill in that glaring hole in my education. In general, the more I turn around and look into random historical moments, I increasingly realize that there is so much history out there just waiting to be discovered and it is all so interesting! It was a delight to be handed even a sliver of what’s out there by The Enchantress.

Substance aside, the narrative pacing and the style of the novel were superb. As I mentioned, Rushdie jumps around a lot but he does it seamlessly and with utter comfort no matter where he’s jumping. He impressively keeps any number of mysteries alive until the very last pages of the book, even though this is not really a “mystery” per se. Instead, it is its own breed of novel that blends mystery with the fantastical, the Oriental, the historical, and a dash of the sentimental. It’s a beautiful, highly imaginative combination and one which I would highly recommend.

–Corey

Entry filed under: Contemporary Fiction, Historical Fiction. Tags: , , .

Weekly Geeks, August 1-7 Nonfiction favorites

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kate  |  August 3, 2010 at 7:33 am

    Excellent! Thanks for reviewing something Rushdie — I, too, know him only as an Interesting Contemporary Person and am trying to find a good one of his books to start with. This might be the one!

    Reply
    • 2. Kate  |  August 3, 2010 at 10:10 pm

      Also, the Room of Requirement Library strikes again! I found this today in Hailey — yay :D

      Reply
      • 3. Corey  |  August 4, 2010 at 8:26 pm

        Way to go Room of Requirement Library!

        This is also a good starter Rushdie, I think, because it’s one of his Bookers, an often good indication of good-bookness! Having never read his other ones, however, I could be completely wrong!

        Reply
      • 4. Kate  |  August 8, 2010 at 9:20 pm

        I like how you had to say it was “one of” his Bookers, since the man is clearly so brilliant he had more than one novel awarded the highest literary accolade.

        Reply
      • 5. Corey  |  August 9, 2010 at 9:49 am

        Sickening this man’s talent, isn’t it?

        Reply
  • 6. Eva  |  August 3, 2010 at 12:08 pm

    YAY! Rushdie’s been one of my very favourite authors for a few years now, and I was afraid when I saw this post that you were going to trash this one (when it was first released, not many bloggers enjoyed it). You have such a treat ahead of you, with all of his backlist. :) I’ve almost finished it now (I try to hold off on reading fave authors so I always have more of theirs to read)…one of my favourites of his is Shalimar the Clown, if you’re not certain where to go next w/ him. It’s less ornate than Enchantress, and more about plot, which spans everything from the French resistance movement to Kashmir. :D

    Reply
    • 7. Kate  |  August 4, 2010 at 7:15 am

      I know this was a recommendation for Corey, but I am totally checking out Shalimar the Clown ASAP. I tried to start Midnight’s Children last summer and didn’t get very far.

      Reply
    • 8. Corey  |  August 4, 2010 at 8:27 pm

      Wow, bloggers didn’t like it, eh? I really enjoyed pretty much everything about it, so I’m hard-pressed to imagine what they would not have liked! Anyway, Shalimar sounds excellent; I’ll go see what NYPL has to offer on that count. :) Thanks for the recommendation! (And the tip to save up favorite authors new releases so as not to run out so quickly!)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 133 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


