Fairy Tale Friday: Annotations

July 23, 2010 at 7:20 am 3 comments

I was browsing through the various Google results for “fairy tale,” searching for something to write about, when I discovered Sur La Lune. This site has 49 different classic tales, all annotated, in addition to a Cafe Press store with a collection of fairy tale-related items, illustrations, etc.

While clearly this site is a Mecca for all things fae, the annotations got me wondering. As a recovering literature student, there’s nothing I love more than a footnote and an academic explanation. But how do you guys feel about annotations in fairy tales? Do you find them interesting, or simply distracting?

Whether or not you enjoy them, I know I’m going to be wasting a lot of time on this site in the near future! At any rate, it will definitely help with my Fairy Tale Friday posts — can you believe I haven’t written on Bluebeard yet?

— Kate

Entry filed under: Fairy Tale Friday. Tags: , .

Discussion Questions: Gigi & My Mother’s House Weekly Geeks: Author Picture Quiz

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shannon  |  July 23, 2010 at 3:04 pm

    They have Hop O’My Thumb!!!

    I gotta go.

    Reply
  • 2. silverseason  |  July 24, 2010 at 2:30 am

    Is that an Arthur Rackham illustration? I grew up with a Rackham-illustrated Andersen’s fairy tales and his images still illustrated many of those characters in my mind.

    Reply
    • 3. Kate  |  July 25, 2010 at 7:34 am

      Yes, it is! I think it might be The Little Mermaid, but I’m not sure.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 135 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


