Weekly Geeks: Shiny Book Syndrome

July 19, 2010 at 12:12 am 8 comments

So what is Shiny Book Syndrome? It is when a person only wants to read their newest book and leaves piles of poor unread books on their shelves to collect dust….how do you keep Shiny Book Syndrome away?

Oooh, I am so bad at this. I always read the newest thing I have, whether it be my newest library book or the book I just got from Amazon. The first few weeks I was in Idaho, I picked up some books at a thrift store that I couldn’t wait to read — until, of course, I found the library.

All my sad little second-hands went into a pile next to the shelf (told you this would happen) as I turned to the new and exciting library books. I even abandoned The Bohemian Girl in favor of The Night Watch and Perfume: The Story of a Murderer.

So what’s a girl to do? Read faster, I guess — which is why I’m joining DelGal’s A-Buck-A-Book challenge about six months too late. The idea is that for each book, you put a dollar in a jar and save it until the end of the year. Depending on how fast and how much you read, you could end up with anything from $5 to $100 in your jar by the end! (I know at least one book blogger who could probably start a retirement fund this way.)

While it doesn’t really address the issue of reading my oldest books first, I do have my canister on top of my TBR pile rather than my library books pile, so maybe that will provide some extra incentive! Anyone want to join me?

Do you have Shiny Book Syndrome as well? Like the idea of paying yourself for reading? Tell me about it below!

— Kate

Entry filed under: Weekly Geeks. Tags: , .

Rereadings: The Thief Contemporary Classics?

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Iris  |  July 19, 2010 at 2:15 am

    That challenge sounds like a good idea. And I know your troubles with new books. Although I often have so much planned reading that I can’t really start on my new books :( I should change that.

    Reply
  • 2. Kerrie  |  July 19, 2010 at 3:06 am

    Interesting idea

    Reply
  • 3. Britney  |  July 19, 2010 at 3:37 am

    I absolutely have this! I set myself a challenge to have 75% of the books I read this year be books I’ve owned before 2010, but I keep buying new books and going to the library so it’s been failing. I can be really good for about a month or so.

    I don’t think the buck-a-book challenge would work for me. I’d end up with $150 that I’d wish had been in savings the whole time so I could earn that precious $1.50 in interest on it. :)

    Reply
    • 4. Kate  |  July 19, 2010 at 7:52 pm

      I’d just spend the money on an overpriced latte or something, so for me it’s better to have it in the canister! But I see your point :)

      Reply
  • 5. neuroticmom  |  July 19, 2010 at 10:56 am

    I like the idea to pay yourself to read. Although I like to read I read so slow I would probably have only enough for an expensive coffee at the end of the year :) I have so many books I want to read – pile from the library, books people have suggested and of course my summer books that i haven’t gotten to yet. I tend to go to the library ones first knowing they need to be returned and then mine sit and as I just read on someone else’s blog “The saddest life a book can live is to sit upon a shelf”.
    I think my worse offense is I have lists of books all over on cards, on the computer, and on post its of books that look interesting to me and I want to read but then tend to go to other books not on the list to read. So the list just keeps growing. :(

    Reply
    • 6. Kate  |  July 19, 2010 at 7:53 pm

      It adds up! I already have two dollars in the oatmeal can. :D

      Reply
      • 7. neuroticmom  |  July 19, 2010 at 9:01 pm

        yes but you read WAAAAAAY faster than I do!! :p

        Reply
  • 8. gautami tripathy  |  July 21, 2010 at 10:29 am

    I think all of us suffer from it to some extent or the other!

    Here is my Weekly Geeks post!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 133 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


