Under the Skin by Michel Faber

July 14, 2010 at 12:22 am 3 comments

Isserley always drove straight past a hitch-hiker when she first saw him, to give herself time to size him up. She was looking for big muscles: a hunk on legs. Puny, scrawny specimens were no use to her.

The only word for this book is “compelling.” I started reading Under the Skin in my local library, just glancing at the first page to see if I really wanted to take it home. Before I knew it, I was sitting in one of the comfy chairs, it was an hour later, and I was 100 pages into the story. I could barely put the book down to ride home.

Part of the book’s charm is its carefully built suspense, so the plot summary here will be brief. Suffice it to say that the main character, Isserley, spends most of her time trolling the highways in the Scottish Highlands, looking for burly hitchhikers to pick up. She drives the same streets every day, always looking for the same sort of man.

Whatever you think is going on, it’s probably wrong. If you’re not completely wrong, rest assured that you don’t know the whole story. Michel Faber is an absolute master of suspense, giving the reader just enough information to keep them enthralled.

In a way, this is frustrating. Much like my experience with The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake, I wanted more answers than Faber gave . Unlike Aimee Bender’s work, though, Under the Skin has enough explanation that I was left pondering Faber’s message instead of making lists of all the things he should have told me but didn’t.

Anyway, wow. No wonder this made Booklist’s list of best debut novels of 2000. I don’t know if I would recommend buying this book; it’s so very strange that I’m not sure I would ever read it again. The story will stay with me for a very long time, however — and I guarantee it will stay with you, if you decide to take my recommendation that this is definitely a book worth borrowing.

Have you read this book or other works by Michel Faber? What did you think?

— Kate

Entry filed under: Contemporary Fiction. Tags: , , .

Written Lives by Javier Marías Discussion Post: The Golden Ass

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. neuroticmom  |  July 14, 2010 at 8:09 pm

    This sounds intriguing do you think I would like it? I read reviews on Amazon sounds maybe a little too creepy for me?

    Reply
    • 2. Kate  |  July 14, 2010 at 8:23 pm

      Eh, it’s a little creepy for you, I think. Sorry :(

      Reply
  • […] of his is The Crimson Petal and the White, but there is no denying that his sci-fi work is genius. Under the Skin, the story of an other-worldly woman who disguises herself as human to lure single male […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 133 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


