Currently Reading

July 5, 2010 at 12:12 am 5 comments

Since there doesn’t seem to be a Weekly Geeks and I want to save Interview with the Vampire for Friday, I thought I’d create a post where we can all share what we’re currently reading.

Unusually enough for me, I’m only reading one book at the moment (not counting The Associated Press Guide to News Writing, which I haven’t touched since I started it two months ago). Appropriately, it’s The Whiskey Rebels by David Liss — a story of espionage and intrigue set during the 1790s, right before the Whiskey Rebellion.

I say “appropriately” because I’m writing this on the Fourth, and a central theme of the book is a people’s right to rebel when they collectively feel their government has been corrupted and is taking advantage of them. The novel is set after the Revolution, but so closely after that people are terrified, almost paranoid, that the American government will simply become a junior version of the corrupt British one they had just separated from.

I’ll save the rest for a later review, but I will say that the book is excellent so far. What are you all reading? Please share in the comments!

— Kate

Entry filed under: Weekly Geeks. Tags: , .

Rereadings: What to read after Harry Potter? “The Magicians” by Lev Grossman

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Iris  |  July 5, 2010 at 3:10 am

    I am reading The Inferno by Dante and Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater. It makes for an interesting mix of reading that requires all attention and light reading to kill the time on the hot summer nights we’re currently enjoying.

    Reply
  • 2. Britney  |  July 5, 2010 at 3:32 am

    I’m currently reading three books:

    Along for the Ride by Sarah Dessen – I picked this up because I’ve been on a Sarah Dessen streak and they’re kind of mindless and extremely easy to read. There’s always a family problem, and the girl always develops a friendship that turns into a romance with a guy. After this, I’ll have read every Sarah Dessen book save one – which I started in 2004 and never finished.

    The Fortune Cookie Chronicles by Jennifer 8 Lee – So far I’ve learned all sorts of interesting things, like the fortune cookie was probably invented by Japanese immigrants, and they don’t eat General Tso’s chicken in General Tso’s home village (and haven’t even heard of it!).

    Rat Girl by Kristin Hersh – this is a memoir I’ve been sent to review, and so far it’s slow going. I’ve started a few other books since I started it last week.

    I’m also in the middle of a few short story collections, which I should get back to so I can finish them.

    Reply
  • 3. neuroticmom  |  July 5, 2010 at 5:34 pm

    I just got some books from the library and as you know my favorite kind of book is a mindless, easy to read relaxing book and the one I am reading right now is “Daisy Fay and the Miracle Man” by Fannie Flagg. I decided on this book after realizing that I thoroughly enjoyed a few of her other books including “Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe” (one of my all time favorites). I haven’t gotten too far into the book. although I like it so far the girl just seems to ramble on endlessly from one thing to another.

    Reply
  • 4. silverseason  |  July 6, 2010 at 3:35 am

    I am attempting to read James Joyce’s Ulysses, alternating each section with the related section in Harry Blamires’ The Bloomsday Book. When I have had enough Dublin, I switch to Amos Oz, A Tale of Love and Darkness.

    These are all fine books, but I am having trouble relating at an emotional level to the folks in Dublin in 1904. Is this only me? Ulysses is very clever and all that and I do enjoy the word play, but why should I care about these people?

    Reply
  • 5. Shannon  |  July 6, 2010 at 7:17 pm

    I’m reading an Inspector Lynley mystery by Elizabeth George. It seems to follow the usual theme of anyone who enjoys sex too much gets killed for it…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 135 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


