Library Loot!

June 29, 2010 at 12:12 am 5 comments

So you may not know this, readers, but I have recently moved to a new town. The acclimation process can be tricky, as I’m sure many of you know, but nothing smooths things over like finding the local library.

Lucky for me, I have two: one in the town where I live, and one in the town where I work. I’ve got two library cards and everything (the libraries apparently don’t speak to one another). So it came as a shock to no one when I spent yesterday bopping around town and found myself visiting both. Here’s what I picked up:

Julie and Julia by Julie Powell: I won’t go into the plot of this one, as you probably already know it. I thought it deserved another chance, as I read it two years ago and wasn’t particularly enamored. We’ll see.

Rebel Angels by Libba Bray: The follow-up to A Great and Terrible Beauty, which I loved. Here’s hoping it’s just as good!

Toast by Nigel Slater: Slater is, apparently, a celebrity chef in England who has written a memoir mostly about food. It’s kind of Tender at the Bone, but with more bodily fluids.

Interview with the Vampire by Anne Rice: Yeah, I know, it’s a vampire book. But after Dracula, this is the vampire book. And it’s getting hard to criticize Twilight without sounding like I hate all vampire novels, when I don’t even know if that’s true.

Comfort Me with Apples by Ruth Reichl: Don’t worry, I won’t subject you all to another Ruth Reichl review. Actually, I don’t even know if I’ll finish this one, I just picked it up on a whim.

The Whiskey Rebels and The Coffee Trader by David Liss: I’ve been meaning to reread The Coffee Trader, and The Whiskey Rebels looked to be similarly good, so expect reviews in the next few weeks!

What have you picked up from the library lately? Share with us!

— Kate

Entry filed under: Collections and Lists, Contemporary Fiction. Tags: , , , , .

Weekly Geeks: I read your work and I loved it Clip Show!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Britney  |  June 29, 2010 at 4:29 am

    I also have books checked out from two library systems that don’t speak to each other! Boston has its own library system and all the cities outside of Boston are in a different one.

    Currently only three books, though.

    The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen – I picked this one up because I had just rediscovered Dessen’s books the week before. I liked the first one, Lock and Key, a lot more. I have two other Dessen books waiting for me at the library.

    An Abundance of Katherines by John Green – I’ve heard a lot of good things about this one, so when I saw it while browsing, I picked it up.

    Marcelo in the Real World by Francisco X. Stork – This is another one I’ve heard a lot of good things about. I think I’m going to be taking it with me on my commute today.

    Reply
    • 2. Britney  |  June 29, 2010 at 4:31 am

      I really need to read the Libba Bray books. My sister and my roommate both love them (and both own the set) so I really have no excuse not to read them.

      Reply
      • 3. Kate  |  June 29, 2010 at 10:06 pm

        Ooh, yes, try Libba Bray! Her books are great summer reads.

        Reply
  • 4. Jillian  |  June 29, 2010 at 8:46 pm

    The first time I check your blog in AGES and in the first post I see you have used the term “bopping around.” Miss me much? Just kidding…but I do miss your Dublin blog…geez

    Reply
    • 5. Kate  |  June 29, 2010 at 10:04 pm

      That term has been so integrated into my vocabulary that I’d forgotten its origins! Actually I was just thinking about you today, though — what’s your chat? :P

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 133 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


