Fairy Tale Friday (running late!)

June 25, 2010 at 9:12 am 14 comments


This rose for some reason seemed appropriate for FTF!

Whilst we await the actual Fairy Tale Friday post, I just thought I’d ask you all the obvious question: What is your favorite fairy tale? If we haven’t covered in here on LT in the past, let us know and we can hit it in upcoming posts!

Entry filed under: Fairy Tale Friday, Musings and Essays. Tags: , .

Discussion Questions: The Mysteries of Udolpho Weekly Geeks: I read your work and I loved it

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Britney  |  June 25, 2010 at 4:34 pm

    Beauty and the Beast! My favorite retellings are Beauty by Robin McKinley (though her other Beauty and the Beast story, Rose Daughter, is pretty good too) and the Disney movie (and musical).

    Reply
    • 2. Corey  |  June 28, 2010 at 8:30 pm

      I really need to read that McKinley; so many of my friends recommend it! Is Beauty all bookish in that version, too?

      Reply
      • 3. Britney  |  June 29, 2010 at 8:14 pm

        In Beauty? Absolutely! In Rose Daughter she’s a gardener. (But I like the ending of Rose Daughter better because it’s the ending I think Beauty and the Beast should have.)

        Which McKinley’s have you read? The Blue Sword is one of my favorite books of all time.

        Reply
  • 4. KT  |  June 27, 2010 at 8:50 am

    Oh, I love Sleeping Beauty, but then you probably already knew that. It’s so anti-feminist, but I love it anyway!

    You know what we haven’t done yet? Rapunzel! Surprising, considering our history with that story. ;)

    Reply
    • 5. Corey  |  June 28, 2010 at 8:31 pm

      I didn’t actually know that! I love the Disney “Sleeping Beauty” on so many levels, so I totally agree. Have we already had a post comparing the two? If not, it’s ripe!

      Whoa! How have we missed that one? And have you seen the trailer for “Tangled”? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ip_0CFKTO9E

      Reply
      • 6. Kate  |  June 28, 2010 at 8:56 pm

        Oh my god, I am in love. With the animation, with the premise, with EVERYTHING. Holy cow. When is it coming out?!

        Reply
      • 7. Kim  |  July 2, 2010 at 3:36 pm

        That trailer is hilarious. ‘Here comes the smolder’. Haha. I can’t wait to see it either!

        Reply
      • 8. Corey  |  July 2, 2010 at 6:04 pm

        Whoa totally missed this, sorry! It’s hitting the US on November 24. Get ready!

        Reply
    • 9. Corey  |  June 28, 2010 at 8:32 pm

      Also, awww our history with it! I think I still have that VHS of us and the puppets somewhere… *rummages*

      Reply
  • 10. KT  |  June 27, 2010 at 8:51 am

    Wait, oh no, this was supposed to be my post, wasn’t it? AUGH! Sorry I dropped the ball!

    Reply
    • 11. Corey  |  June 28, 2010 at 8:32 pm

      Heh, no worries! We got this all up and running so I don’t think anyone noticed! :)

      Reply
  • 12. Tif  |  June 28, 2010 at 8:16 am

    Feel free to visit my Fairy Tale Fridays posts! We are visiting fairytales from around the world these days!

    Reply
    • 13. Corey  |  June 28, 2010 at 8:32 pm

      Thanks for the tip, Tif!

      Reply
    • 14. Kate  |  June 28, 2010 at 8:57 pm

      Thanks, Tif! Loved your entry this week about the boy in the peach :D

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 133 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


