Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand by Helen Simonson

June 9, 2010 at 12:00 am 8 comments


I involuntarily waited to read Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand by Helen Simonson. I read about it in “Books of the Times” this past winter, got all fired up to read the book, went immediately to NYPL’s catalog, and swiftly placed a hold. I was then dully informed that I was the 242nd patron to go through those same motions and that at some point in the misty future, I would just maybe get to hold Pettigrew in my hands and read it. That is, after the 241 other people were well and truly done with it. I sighed, dialed down my own excitement for the book, and proceeded to wait as instructed.

Months passed, seasons changed, and still no Pettigrew. I watched the numbers dwindle in the queue with vague enthusiasm, willing myself not to get prematurely excited about the book’s not-so-impending arrival. The one day—a nearly summer day by now with sunshine and warm weather—the miraculous occurred: Pettigrew was waiting for me at the Ottendorfer. I made haste to library and then covetously held the book close to me all the way home. Once there, I cracked open its shiny new cover and began the most pleasant literary experience I’ve had in a very long time.

In short, what Ms. Simonson has accomplished is to write a charming 19th-century country novel that happens to take place in a now very 21st-century England. Major Pettigrew (presumably no relation to Miss Pettigrew) is the honorable protagonist of the story and is remarkable in a number of ways, not least of which is his combination of stereotype and uniqueness: he is an absolute cookie-cutter fusty old Major who remembers “back in the day” most fondly and has a stern appreciation for how things should be done, but he is also the only person in his backwater village who can see beyond the way things have always been done to the way things should be done in honorable, modern society. It’s an interesting mix and one which continues in conflict through much of the novel. He knows what is right, but often has trouble stepping beyond his own boundaries of the way things have always been.

Beyond the characters (ranging from the Major himself, to his stingy sister-in-law, to his idiotic son, to the lovely Mrs. Ali), Pettigrew has a delightfully old-fashioned and simple story: boy meets girl, girl is deemed inappropriate for boy, boy must choose between girl and society, etc., etc. Ms. Simonson’s ability to mix the mundane (admittedly an absolutely perfectly-described mundane) with darker themes such as race and ageism is fascinating and part of what makes Pettigrew truly great. Other parts include the aforementioned characters, a pitch-perfect rural setting, and the occasional beautifully articulated feeling (“Life does often get in the way of one’s reading,” thinks the Major one evening).

Basically, I cannot say enough complimentary things about this book. If you remotely enjoy England, 19th century country novels, “love conquers all!”-type stories, or unbelievable sweetness of expression, definitely get yourself on line to get Pettigrew from the library. Or do what I did immediately after finishing it: go to your local independent bookstore and buy a copy for your mother! You both will no doubt love it.

–Corey

Entry filed under: Contemporary Fiction. Tags: , .

Ex-Libris by Ross King Discussion Questions: The Aeneid

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. KT  |  June 9, 2010 at 7:30 am

    This sounds absolutely amazing! I’m going to have to swing by the library for this :D

    Reply
    • 2. Corey  |  June 9, 2010 at 8:48 am

      You definitely should. It was such a lovely little read and well worth any waiting you may incur!

      Reply
  • 3. Shannon  |  June 9, 2010 at 3:04 pm

    Oh, I’m so excited — this sounds perfect for me! I have had this on my Amazon Wish List for a while. I think I’ll bump it up the queue.

    Reply
    • 4. Corey  |  June 10, 2010 at 7:13 am

      I honestly can’t say enough nice things about this book, so definitely bump it up a bit!

      Reply
  • 5. Iris  |  June 13, 2010 at 6:28 am

    This sounds lovely. I’ve seen it top Librarything for a while, but I have yet to read it. It seems I really should do so.

    Reply
    • 6. Corey  |  June 14, 2010 at 8:33 am

      Absolutely! It’s pleasant;y written while also being a quick read, so you can squeeze it into your TBR pile completely painlessly. And I highly recommend doing so!

      Reply
  • […] the whole, it’s a sweet book that, like Helen Simonson’s Major Pettrigrew’s Last Stand, delivers an affecting portrait of middle-aged love and loss in England. It just adds the Tower of […]

    Reply
  • 8. Natalie L.  |  December 27, 2010 at 9:43 pm

    I got this book for Christmas from my mom and finished reading it just now. The Major’s dry wit had me giggling aloud, and I wanted to reach through the pages and slug Roger. In short, I loved it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 134 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


