Weekly Geeks: The Wishlist

June 7, 2010 at 12:12 am 4 comments

Is your wishlist as big as your TBR pile? What books are topping your list? Are there any new releases that you are counting down the days for?

Ah, an easy one! My wishlist and my TBR list tend to overlap, but my wishlist is more often reserved for very special books — books I could not simply take out of the library, read and return with contentment.

For example, Ex Libris by Anne Fadiman is on there because I could read that book for years to come and never grow tired of it. Comfort Me With Apples by Ruth Reichl also makes an appearance, as it’s one of my favorite books ever. That’s the memoir that tells how Reichl came into her own as a restaurant reviewer and journalist, but also chronicles some serious personal struggles of Reichl’s.

But my wishlist is a little more than a collection of books I’d like to own. It’s a window into what I wish I could be as well. My sub-list entitled “Serious Scholarly Books” is both a remnant and a reminder of my love of academia; the numerous Penguin Clothbound editions reflect my yearning for an apartment of my own, where I’ll have bookshelves galore in which to display such beautiful books.

And the French dictionary, with French editions of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone and Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland? Kind of a whim, but also part of a plan to brush up my college French…who knows when that might come in handy?

On a less serious note, I’m also patiently awaiting The Broken Kingdoms, the next book in N. K. Jemisin’s Inheritance Trilogy!

What does your wishlist look like? Is it a collection of your hopes and dreams, or is it simply a list of books you’re anxiously awaiting? Tell me all about it!

— KT

Entry filed under: Weekly Geeks. Tags: , , , , .

Rereadings: (Some of) the Harry Potter Series Ex-Libris by Ross King

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Britney  |  June 7, 2010 at 4:54 am

    I have a list of books I want to read (about 500+ books strong!) but my Amazon wishlist only has a few Sherwood Smith titles on it. Her books are mostly published by really small publishers, so they can be hard to find in stores/libraries, and I’ve already read one of the ones listed but want a keeper copy.

    Reply
    • 2. KT  |  June 7, 2010 at 7:52 pm

      My TBR list is normally a lot longer than my wishlist, too — nowhere near as long as yours, though!

      What sort of writing does Sherwood Smith do?

      Reply
      • 3. Britney  |  June 8, 2010 at 4:33 am

        Mostly fantasy. Her most accessible book is Crown Duel, since it was released by Firebird Books a few years ago, and it is a young adult fantasy romance. But I think some of her best work is the Inda series, which takes place in a different part of the same fantasy universe a couple hundred years prior, and it’s about a boy who is sent to the royal academy to learn about war, but then something happens and he flees the country to defend his honor. He goes to be a pirate and that’s a lot of fun, but this series is four really long books so I wouldn’t suggest it to a Sherwood Smith newbie.

        Reply
  • 4. Mish  |  June 11, 2010 at 2:25 pm

    A lot of my TBR pile are already on my shelves so my wishlist isn’t as long. I like being a personal library for friends and myself. I’m horrible at parting with books, though I have gotten better from needing space.

    Bon chance avec ta française.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 132 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


