Moving Books

June 2, 2010 at 12:00 am 18 comments

I moved this past week and while the whole process was understandably stressful, the thing that I found most frustrating was moving my books. Beside clothing, most of the things I own are books so packing swiftly became an issue. You can’t pack too many books in one box or it will be impossible to lift. You also can’t pack too many in one box or the box might break. You can’t pack books in too big a box or, again, you won’t be able to lift it. And, of course, books come in all shapes and sizes so finding a box that magically is small enough so it won’t get too heavy whilst also being able to fit your atlas is something of a challenge.

So at the moment I’m very much wishing that someone would invent a good way to transport books that does not involve cardboard boxes which a) do not hold enough books, b) may break if you put too many in them, and c) get way too heavy if you overload them. You’d think someone over the centuries would have already developed this technology, but apparently the bookish hoards have not been vociferous enough in their complaints on this front.

Therefore, I’m taking to the internet in a plea for a better way to move books. Presumably with our collective brains we can come up with something. What do you think? Revert to steamer trunks and servants? Sturdier cardboard boxes? There must be a better way!

–Corey

Entry filed under: Musings and Essays. Tags: , , .

The Summer 2010 Classics Challenge Raffles and Bunny; or, the poor man’s Holmes

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Iris  |  June 2, 2010 at 7:51 am

    I hope you’ll find the answer to this. I might have to move in the next 2 years or so and I’m already dreading moving all of my books.

    Reply
    • 2. Corey  |  June 3, 2010 at 10:55 am

      Fingers crossed on my end, too. I’m moving to another country in September so I’d like to be able to take some books with me!

      Reply
  • 3. neuroticmom  |  June 2, 2010 at 8:46 am

    I had to laugh because I thought Katie wrote this till I got to the end! She also had the problem but hers was more how many can you put in a suitcase and still make room for a few clothes :) I can’t say we came up with an answer since she still has 1 1/2 bookcases here full of her books!

    Reply
    • 4. Corey  |  June 3, 2010 at 10:55 am

      Ha! Yeah, we have twin-moments like that sometimes. : )

      And thank you again (SO MUCH!) for the wonderful cookies!

      Reply
  • 5. Natalie  |  June 2, 2010 at 9:56 am

    I remember having exactly the same problem last time I moved. I think I ended up packing boxes half full of books and then putting ligher stuff (clothes, towels) on top. I also borrowed a bunch of big tupperware bins, which were great since there was no danger of them breaking.

    Reply
    • 6. Corey  |  June 3, 2010 at 10:57 am

      I think tupperware may be the answer, although that still doesn’t help in terms of weight! (In which case doing boxes filled only half with books is at least an alternative.)

      Reply
      • 7. KT  |  June 3, 2010 at 8:52 pm

        Tupperware, and maybe those reusable bags you can get from the grocery store? I suppose it all depends on how you’re moving. I shipped two large USPS flat rate boxes to Idaho, which worked out okay. I’d recommend these boxes for moving, too — they’re pretty small, so they’re easy to carry, and sturdy!

        Reply
      • 8. Corey  |  June 4, 2010 at 8:57 am

        Ah-ha! Flat-rate USPS boxes may be an excellent solution, so then they aren’t charging you for the heft!

        Reply
        • 9. KT  |  June 4, 2010 at 2:56 pm

          Unfortunately, if you ship internationally using those boxes, they jack the prices wayyyyyy up. Sorry, buddy!

      • 10. Corey  |  June 7, 2010 at 11:01 am

        Curses! Foiled again!

        Reply
  • 11. Britney  |  June 2, 2010 at 7:36 pm

    My solution is to reduce the number of books I have to pack. It’s a work in progress…

    Reply
    • 12. Corey  |  June 3, 2010 at 10:57 am

      Indeed, that’s been my solution, too! Thus most of my books remain in Williamsville and I only ever move with a finite set.

      Reply
  • 13. Shannon  |  June 3, 2010 at 10:44 am

    I hire inexpensive movers each and every time I move. Last time, I had 60 boxes of books.

    Reply
    • 14. Corey  |  June 3, 2010 at 10:58 am

      How big were the boxes?!

      Reply
  • 15. anothercookiecrumbles  |  June 10, 2010 at 9:00 pm

    I moved house a couple of months back, and moving my books was a nightmare and a half. All my clothes fit in a big suitcase. I needed about ten cardboard boxes for my books, and some of them weighed a ton. Not only that, we didn’t have a lift in our old place, so had to take it to the car by going down the stairs. Heavy cardboard boxes + staircases = bad idea!

    Reply
    • 16. Corey  |  June 11, 2010 at 7:36 am

      I totally agree. That is basically what I just went through. Everything else seemed manageable, but the books were just such woe!

      Reply
  • 17. An Ideal Plane-Read « Literary Transgressions  |  September 15, 2010 at 12:26 am

    […] American days are filled with the usual chaos of moving anywhere (at least I don’t have to worry about boxes of books this time!), the problem most preoccupying my mind at present is which book to read on the […]

    Reply
  • […] What about you? Do you have moving and packing books as much as I do? I know Corey does… […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 135 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


