Weekly Geeks: Poetry Month

April 19, 2010 at 12:13 am 4 comments

Now I’m not one for poetry but maybe I should learn more about this literary form. For this week’s theme, I encourage participants to to help celebrate National Poetry Month…

Those of you who are regular readers of this blog might remember my post on poetry from last fall. For those of you who don’t, let me sum this up: I am not usually a fan. Despite having edited an amateur literary collection that was mostly poetry, I usually cannot sit and read poetry for any extended period of time.

But even though I’m not a huge poetry reader, I do read it occasionally. So, for this week’s post, I’ll post one of my favorite poems, and as you guys to leave your favorites in the comments!

One Art (by Elizabeth Bishop)

The art of losing isn’t hard to master;

so many things seem filled with the intent

to be lost that their loss is no disaster.

Lose something every day. Accept the fluster

of lost door keys, the hour badly spent.

The art of losing isn’t hard to master.

Then practice losing farther, losing faster:

places, and names, and where it was you meant

to travel. None of these will bring disaster.

I lost my mother’s watch. And look! my last, or

next-to-last, of three loved houses went.

The art of losing isn’t hard to master.

I lost two cities, lovely ones. And, vaster,

some realms I owned, two rivers, a continent.

I miss them, but it wasn’t a disaster.

–Even losing you (the joking voice, a gesture

I love) I shan’t have lied.

It’s evident the art of losing’s not too hard to master

though it may look like (Write it!) like disaster.

(Honorable mentions? Mad Girl’s Love Song, Holy Sonnet 14, i carry your heart with me, and Sonnet 99. What are your favorites?)

– KT

Entry filed under: Weekly Geeks. Tags: , , , .

LT Archives: Vampires! Literary Polygamy

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Corey  |  April 19, 2010 at 5:14 am

    I agree that poetry is not my cup of Darjeeling, but I do like Tennyson if pressed. Any poetry that comes Queen Vic approved is okay by me. :)

    And, of course, “Jabberwocky,” a long-time love:

    ‘Twas brillig, and the slithy toves
    Did gyre and gimble in the wabe;
    All mimsy were the borogoves,
    And the mome raths outgrabe.

    “Beware the Jabberwock, my son
    The jaws that bite, the claws that catch!
    Beware the Jubjub bird, and shun
    The frumious Bandersnatch!”

    He took his vorpal sword in hand;
    Long time the manxome foe he sought—
    So rested he by the Tumtum tree,
    And stood awhile in thought.

    And, as in uffish thought he stood,
    The Jabberwock, with eyes of flame,
    Came whiffling through the tulgey wood,
    And burbled as it came!

    One, two! One, two! And through and through
    The vorpal blade went snicker-snack!
    He left it dead, and with its head
    He went galumphing back.

    “And hast thou slain the Jabberwock?
    Come to my arms, my beamish boy!
    O frabjous day! Callooh! Callay!”
    He chortled in his joy.

    ‘Twas brillig, and the slithy toves
    Did gyre and gimble in the wabe;
    All mimsy were the borogoves,
    And the mome raths outgrabe.

    Reply
    • 2. KT  |  April 19, 2010 at 9:32 pm

      A classic! The lines “Beware the JubJub bird, and shun/the fruminous Bandersnatch!” are particularly wonderful :)

      Reply
      • 3. Corey  |  April 20, 2010 at 1:41 pm

        Indeed! I love “O frabjous day! Callooh! Callay!/ He chortled in his joy.” It’s so utterly joyful.

        Reply
  • 4. melissapilakowski  |  April 20, 2010 at 1:35 pm

    Oooh. I like it! I’m going to be copying and pasting that one!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 135 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


