Weekly Geeks: MIA, so TBR

April 12, 2010 at 12:18 am 10 comments

Hello, all! Looks like the Weekly Geeks prompt is either late or missing again, so I’m creating my own (admittedly easy) topic: the TBR pile.

For those not in the know, TBR stands for “To Be Read,” and all  readers I know have a pile of these books somewhere, haunting them and making them feel guilty every time they glance into that corner of the room. Some people are really good about plowing through book after book; for others, the pile can sit for weeks without any visible progress being made.

You can see my TBR pile above. Admittedly, it’s more the latter sort than the former, especially as I decided to reread Special Topics in Calamity Physics last week, which ate up a large chunk of my time. Here’s a rundown of the books currently making me feel guilty about not reading fast enough — feel free to share yours in the comments below!

My Antonia and The Song of the Lark by Willa Cather: Both for next month’s Classics Challenge — trying to decide which we should discuss!

Candide by Voltaire: Originally an impulse check-out at the library, but now I think it’s going to be in May’s CC.

The Old Curiosity Shop by Charles Dickens: A Dickens novel I haven’t read, lined up for next month’s CC as well.

The Cranford Chronicles by Elizabeth Gaskell: Never having read Mrs Gaskell, I am adding her to the list for the CC next month!

The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan: I’m thinking about making June “Contemporary Classics” Month, and debating including this. Thoughts?

The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N. K. Jemisin: I think Aishwarya mentioned this on her blog and I picked it up on a whim. Basically, if she mentions a book, I’ll read it, which is also how I ended up reading Perdido Street Station a month or so ago.

My Life in France by Julia Child: Corey’s review was so good that I had to check this book out for myself!

Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel: I’ve been on the waiting list for this book since November, and now that I’ve finally got it, I haven’t had the time to read it! Soon, though.

What are all of you about to start reading? Give us the rundown in the comments or on your own blog!

– KT

Entry filed under: Weekly Geeks. Tags: , .

Fairy Tale Friday: A Tale for the Recession Bookish Getaway

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Britney  |  April 12, 2010 at 3:02 am

    Right now I don’t have a TBR pile as much as a “books I’ve already started and need to finish” pile. I’m finishing Slayer Slang today, and then I want to finish Storm Glass by Maria Snyder, Journey Between Worlds by Sylvia Louise Engdahl, and A Lion Among Men by Gregory Maguire (I’ve been reading this one for six months – I just want to finish it!).

    Because then I’ll be able to hit my TBR pile of Sick Girl by Amy Silverstein and Talk to the Hand by Lynne Truss. I also borrowed Kristin Chenoweth’s autobiography and one of those I-escaped-polygamy memoirs from the library and would like to read them soon as well.

    Reply
  • 2. Natalie  |  April 13, 2010 at 3:57 pm

    Sigh. My TBR pile is an entire shelf, plus a running list in my gmail drafts folder. It’s utterly shameful. I have fallen woefully behind in my reading these past months, and the addition of a kitten to my little family is resulting in even less reading.

    Reply
    • 3. Britney  |  April 13, 2010 at 4:51 pm

      I wish I could say that my TBR pile consisted of “an entire shelf”. I have an overflowing bookcase and only one of those shelves is NOT my TBR. (I also don’t keep all my books after I read them, which helps.)

      Reply
      • 4. KT  |  April 14, 2010 at 10:43 am

        That’s kind of nice, though, in that you always have something new to read! I am continually dashing to the library because, odds are, I will give up on half the books in that pile and be desperate for something new.

        Reply
      • 5. Britney  |  April 14, 2010 at 11:50 am

        My problem is that I keep reading library books, instead. I’d love to have read all (or most of) the books I’ve owned. One of my reading goals is to have 75% of the books I read this year be books I’ve owned since at least last year, and I’m hovering around 65%. I have some catching up to do.

        It’s so easy to get to the library (or my roommate’s books) that I wouldn’t mind having to rely on it.

        Reply
    • 6. KT  |  April 14, 2010 at 10:44 am

      Aw, kitten! Maybe once Melly has adjusted a little more to her new home, you guys will be able to snuggle up on the couch with a good book :)

      Reply
      • 7. Natalie  |  April 14, 2010 at 12:11 pm

        I hope so! :)

        Reply
  • 8. Iris  |  April 14, 2010 at 1:50 am

    I have too many books on my shelves that still need to be read to be listed. It is depressing sometimes. Yet, it also makes me happy to just look at those books and feel how many more I still want to read.

    Reply
  • 9. Aishwarya  |  April 14, 2010 at 10:11 am

    …and now I feel like I need to be careful what I recommend! Though I really liked The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms.

    My TBR pile is most of what I own. A friend who has read far more than I have says he gets nervous at about the point when he has read a third of the books he owns, and he has to rush out and buy more. I’ve been using that as an excuse ever since.

    Reply
    • 10. KT  |  April 14, 2010 at 10:37 am

      I’m beginning to think that maybe I am unusual in having read most of the books I own! My TBR pile is all library books, as you can see. If I haven’t read a book I own, I feel extraordinarily guilty and hide it in my closet or in the cabinet in the bottom of my bookshelf (as was the fate of Raffles, the Amateur Cracksman). Apparently this is very strange!

      And I don’t read every book you do — I’m constantly amazed by the amount of reading you manage to get done! Usually I just try to find the ones you gush over that also sound interesting :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 135 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


