Weekly Geeks: Constant Comment

March 1, 2010 at 12:10 am 9 comments

Commenting. It can be a fun way to connect to your readers. It can be the a source of frustration as a blogger. A comment can make your day. A comment can cause an argument. Today let’s talk commenting.

Weekly Geeks, judging by their prompt, is assuming a much higher rate of comments than LT typically gets! This week has been a delightful exception to our usual rule; a few of you de-lurked to comment on A Tale of Two Cities, The Picture of Dorian Gray and other posts, which was terribly exciting for us, as you can imagine.

I have no dramatic or amusing commenting stories, sadly. No tales of trolling or comment wars. I did get one comment a long time ago on my review of The Coffee Trader that claimed to be from author David Liss, but I freaked out and deleted it.

While I realize that David Liss probably doesn’t have time to sit around Googling himself and the comment was most likely not from him, I still wonder about this from time to time. What if it was him? What if he was so offended that I deleted his comment that I am now blackballed at Random House, which is why they haven’t replied to any of my many job inquiries? What if that small, misguided act has actually ruined my life and upset an amazing author? The horror!

(Incidentally, Mr. Liss, if you’re reading this, I’m sorry and I’ve been meaning to reread your delightful book, but my father gave my copy away to his boss’s wife and then changed jobs, so it’s safe to say that I’ll never see it again. I’m sure she loved it, though.)

But aside from that small drama, there is not much to say regarding comments. LT does not have a commenting policy, as we’ve never had need of one. I moderate them, of course, but that’s only because then I get an exciting little e-mail from WordPress each time one of you comments and I can read it right away. Your comments really do brighten my day, so please, keep them coming!

Entry filed under: Weekly Geeks. Tags: , .

Fairy Tale Friday: Tender Morsels Discussion Questions: Trilby

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Britney  |  March 1, 2010 at 1:16 pm

    It’s my pleasure to de-lurk! But I don’t own any of the classics challenge books for this month so I’ll probably sit out this round. Maybe I’ll read another of February’s selections instead. :)

    Reply
    • 2. KT  |  March 1, 2010 at 11:11 pm

      February’s selections were particularly inspired, so I wouldn’t blame you if you decided to stick with them for now! I’m working on April’s list right now, so if you have any suggestions, I’d love to hear them :)

      Reply
  • 3. Care  |  March 2, 2010 at 2:51 am

    oh how funny! I haven’t gotten any authors to drop in unannounced, either and a few I’ve tried to hunt to see if they have a blog (they don’t, which makes me think they will never visit – which is fine with me) but your story here is great. makes me laugh.
    I need to go read your ToTC post (I *think* this is my first tim here?) I loved that book in HS but I doubt I’ll ever reread. so I love reviews of it.
    Happy Weekly Geeks!

    Reply
    • 4. KT  |  March 2, 2010 at 11:30 am

      Thanks, and happy Weekly Geeks to you, too! I loved rereading A Tale of Two Cities — I had read it in college, but it was one of those books I read in one long, mentally exhausting day for a quiz the next morning, so I figured it was worth a revisit!

      As for author comments, like you I’ve found that dead authors tend not to comment on blogs :P Too bad, because I spend more time writing about them than about anything else!

      Reply
  • 5. David Liss  |  March 2, 2010 at 11:27 am

    Once each week, every Random House author is solicited for the names of people who ought not to be hired by that giant, multinational media conglomerate. After the intense emotional pain I endured when you deleted my last comment, I confess I added your name to that list. And now it can never be removed. Never. Also, in case you are wondering, you have been forever barred from joining the Bilderberg Group, the Elders of Zion, and the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. Okay, now we are even.

    Reply
    • 6. KT  |  March 2, 2010 at 11:59 am

      I was probably ineligible for the Elders of Zion and would not have been cool enough for the Bilderberg Group regardless, but the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences? Harsh! As an alumnus, did you have a hand in my Syracuse rejection as well?

      (Additionally, you should know that I am totally geeking out over here. Thanks for the comment, and I assure you that’s the last time I assume authors don’t read book blogs!)

      Reply
  • 7. redmenace  |  March 2, 2010 at 12:52 pm

    I just found your blog. It’s delightful and you write so well. I am certain I will be commenting lots in due time. Sometimes, I debate my comments too. Am I censoring them? I feel weird about it. Always a struggle.

    Reply
    • 8. KT  |  March 2, 2010 at 1:43 pm

      Thanks so much! I love reading your blog — and with the number of readers you have, I suppose you have a whole crop of commenting issues I haven’t had to deal with yet. It must be tough to keep from giving in to the urge to delete every mean commenter! I can only imagine that the line between a harsh critic and a troll can get a little blurry from time to time.

      Reply
  • 9. Chrisbookarama  |  March 5, 2010 at 11:30 am

    lol! Great answer and great reply from Mr Liss.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with LT

literarytransgressions (Gmail)

@LitTransgressor (Twitter)

LT RSS feed (Subscribe)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 133 other followers

Categories

LT Archives

In accordance with FTC regulations…

...we must disclose that we are independent bloggers with no ties to authors, publishers, or advertisers. We are not given books or monetary compensation in return for favorable reviews or publicity.

Where we have received advance or complementary copies of books, it will be noted in the body of the entry, and will not affect our review or opinions in the slightest.


